The Forbidden Library (Forbidden Library 1)

3,78 valoración promedio
( 2.116 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780857532879: The Forbidden Library (Forbidden Library 1)
Review:

"Compulsive fantasy with a brave, brilliant heroine." ( Metro)

"Reminiscent of Corneila Funke's Inkheart and Neil Gaiman's Coraline . . . Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations." ( School Library Journal)

" The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler is a dream come true for book lovers, child and adult alike . . . certainly deserving of becoming a classic in the future." ( BookZone4Boys)

"Working in the grand tradition of children's fantasy, Wexler's off to a promising start" ( Kirkus Reviews)

"A charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author" ( Booklist)

"Will gratify book lovers and fantasy experts alike" ( The Horn Book)

"A refreshing and unique tale - one that rises above the clichés it could so easily have fallen into - that entertains on every level. It's pitched perfectly to its audience (as well as those who are a few years older...) and, while only time will tell if it becomes a classic, it treats the familiar tropes with care and respect, leaving the reader wanting more after the final page has been turned." ( Starburst)

"This is a brilliant story, and Django Wexler is a name to remember - as if you could forget it!" ( Books Monthly, Children's Book of the Month)

From the Publisher:

Do you remember the first time you climbed into the wardrobe with Lucy and emerged in Narnia? Flew on the back of Falkor the Luck Dragon with Bastian? Followed Alice down the rabbit hole? Welcome to your new favourite adventure. Late one night Alice Creighton hears her father having an argument with a fairy - a snarling, bald beast with warts and needle-like teeth. It is threatening her father, insisting he accept a mysterious offer, or else. When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent away to live with distant relative Mr Geryon, owner of a huge, dark library that is off limits to Alice. After meeting a talking cat who is willing to sneak her in, Alice opens a book and suddenly finds herself inside it - and the only way out is by conquering the dangerous creatures within. Alice has stumbled into a world where all of magic is controlled by Readers through books - she must open more books, face increasingly powerful foes, be the lead character in the quest to find a happy ending.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Wexler, Django
Editorial: Childrens (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857532871 ISBN 13: 9780857532879
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Childrens, 2014. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Brand New. 336 pages. 9.45x6.38x1.22 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería zk0857532871

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Wexler, Django
Editorial: Doubleday (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857532871 ISBN 13: 9780857532879
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad: 1
Librería
DOODLED BOOKS LTD
(Chesterfield, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2014. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1st Edition. From the astonishing imagination of Django Wexler comes a captivating debut adventure story. It¿s completely enchanting with all the ingredients of the classics of the genre, but told in a distinctive new voice. And it includes stunning full-page illustrations by David Wyatt. This book is part of a brand new series and is definitely one to watch! Commissioning editor Lauren Buckland bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Caspian Dennis of Abner Stein in a three-book fantasy adventure series by Wexler. Caspian made the deal on behalf of Seth Fishman at the Gernert Company. And RHCP have now published The Forbidden Library, the first book, this year. The book follows Alice after she is orphaned by her father's strange and mysterious death, as she searches for the truth. Entering a forbidden library in her house, she discovers she is a Reader¿able to enter new worlds through the special books-though she must defeat magical beings to escape them. Buckland said: "The first book is completely captivating and commercial, with all the ingredients of the classics of the genre, but told in a distinctive new voices. Fans of Lewis Carroll, C. S. Lewis and Michael Ende's The Neverending Story are going to love curling up on the sofa and getting lost in this book." Django has exclusively signed, lined, dated and numbered rare first editions at his home in the US. And yes these are the true first impressions as the US edition was released a few days later. So start your collection now! About the book Imagine a world. Where cats can talk; Where fairies are snarling bald beasts with needle-like teeth; Where a huge, dark library hides secrets in its shadows; And dangerous creatures prowl the pages of books. Dare you join Alice on her quest to find a happy ending? About the Author Django Wexler graduated Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. Eventually he migrated to Microsoft and Seattle, where he now lives with two cats and a teetering mountain of books. When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays games of all sorts. Reviews "Alice has a minder named Ashes which is this talking, feisty cat. There¿s a dragon. There¿s a Swarm. If you want magic, you¿ve got it right in this book. If you¿ve got a kid with a big imagination, hand them a copy of The Forbidden Library for a spring present." - April at Good Books and Good Wine "Perhaps my favorite part of this story is Alice herself. Alice is a rather intelligent and practical girl who doesn¿t intend to lie about when things go wrong, and has a pragmatic air of acceptance of things that just makes her fun to read. Rather than be utterly astonished by the existence of the magical and mystical world, or attempting to deny it, this self-possessed young lady calmly reconsiders her world view and soldiers on. . A clever, self-sufficient heroine is a very enjoyable thing to read. My other personal delight is the cat. How can you not enjoy a cat named Ashes-Drifting-Through-The-Dead-Cities-of-the-World, (for short, Ashes). These things quickly made this more than your run of the mill fantasy story and fantasy heroine." - Stephanie at Views From The Tesseract "I thoroughly enjoyed The Forbidden Library. It's rich and dense and creative. Alice is a great - and stubborn! - heroine and the supporting cast is delicious. It serves up a great mix of the expected tropes and settings offered by middle grade fantasy but it also subverts some so it feels fresh and new. I'm looking forward to book two." - Jill at The Bookbag ".this is a great debut book as part of a fantastic new series that could hold epic status. Captivating, thoroughly enjoyable and a very entertaining read, I would definitely recommend this book as a read for everyone. The splendid illustrations add to the great storyline and. Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. de la librería 000669

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 59,60
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 13,97
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío