The Death of the Detective: A Novel

3,58 valoración promedio
( 104 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780810123878: The Death of the Detective: A Novel
From the Publisher:

A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder's wake - through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages - through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself. "The Death of the Detective" is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith's detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks "the death-maker" from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best-seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn't let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul.

About the Author:

Mark Smith was born in Michigan in 1935 and lived in Chicago, Illinois for many years. He is the author of seven novels, a poet, and a professor emeritus of English at the University of New Hampshire.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Smith, Mark
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Cantidad: 6
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97808101238780000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, United States, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. 226 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder s wake - through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages - through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself. The Death of the Detective is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith s detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks the death-maker from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best-seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn t let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul. Nº de ref. de la librería AAN9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, United States, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. 226 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder s wake - through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages - through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself. The Death of the Detective is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith s detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks the death-maker from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best-seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn t let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul. Nº de ref. de la librería AAN9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 8
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press. Paperback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, The Death of the Detective: A Novel (New edition), Mark Smith, A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder's wake - through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages - through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself. "The Death of the Detective" is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith's detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks "the death-maker" from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best-seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn't let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,09
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,88
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Smith, Mark
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 4375244-n

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,48
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Cantidad: 6
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería CE-9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,42
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE_book_new_0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 29,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: NEW. 9780810123878 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Nº de ref. de la librería HTANDREE0672973

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,44
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 9,31
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern Univ Pr (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern Univ Pr, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. 1st edition. 596 pages. 8.75x5.75x1.00 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería __0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 31,15
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,74
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda