The Death of the Detective: A Novel

3,49 valoración promedio
( 117 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780810123878: The Death of the Detective: A Novel

A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder's wake--through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages--through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself.

The Death of the Detective is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith's detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks "the death-maker" from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn't let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Mark Smith was born in Michigan in 1935 and lived in Chicago, Illinois for many years. He is the author of seven novels, a poet, and a professor emeritus of English at the University of New Hampshire.

Review:

"Remarkable for both its ambition and its accomplishment, [it] reads as though it were written by a resurrected Charles Dickens, one chilled by a hundred years of graveyard brooding. . .every page is a pleasure to read." --New York Times Book Review


"Uncanny. . .unique. A rare achievement!" --Chicago Tribune


"The Death of the Detective is not only about Chicago, it is Chicago. . . . With this one enormous book Mark Smith has emerged as one of the most ambitious, original, and thought-provoking novelists writing today." --Chicago Daily News

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Mark Smith
Editorial: Northwestern University Press, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, United States, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder s wake - through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages - through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself. The Death of the Detective is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith s detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks the death-maker from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best-seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn t let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul. Nº de ref. de la librería AAN9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,73
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2006. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería CE-9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,51
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,10
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Mark Smith
Editorial: Northwestern University Press, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, United States, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder s wake - through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages - through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself. The Death of the Detective is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith s detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks the death-maker from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best-seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn t let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul. Nº de ref. de la librería AAN9780810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,44
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern Univ Pr (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern Univ Pr, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. 1st edition. 596 pages. 8.75x5.75x1.00 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería __0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,55
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,73
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Mark Smith
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 36,10
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Mark Smith
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 40,30
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 45,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0810123878 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0394779

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Smith, Mark
Editorial: Northwestern University Press 2007-01-11 (2007)
ISBN 10: 0810123878 ISBN 13: 9780810123878
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Northwestern University Press 2007-01-11, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1. 0810123878 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería TM-0810123878

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 77,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío