Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music

3,3 valoración promedio
( 1.294 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780802142535: Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
Reseña del editor:

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of "Les Miserables and "Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playin g classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She's also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In "Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors show inhabit the insular world of classical music. After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the back-biting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions--in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. "Mozari in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schelp across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, "Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Reseña del editor:

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's "Kitchen Confidential" and Gelsey Kirkland's "Dancing on My Grave," "Mozart in the Jungle" delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician--from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions-- working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, "Mozart in the Jungle" is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Tindall, Blair
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97808021425350000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Tindall, Blair
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0802142532

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,24
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Tindall, Blair
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 14
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 991162

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Blair Tindall
Editorial: Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 203 x 137 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musicianfrom the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780802142535

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Blair Tindall
Editorial: Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 203 x 137 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musicianfrom the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780802142535

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Tindall, Blair
Editorial: Grove Press
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 14
Librería
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0802142532 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Nº de ref. de la librería 4914313

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Blair Tindall
Editorial: Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Cantidad: 8
Librería
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, 2006. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780802142535

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,82
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Tindall, Blair
Editorial: Grove Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 18
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0802142532

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,77
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Tindall, Blair
Editorial: Grove Press
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0802142532 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería NATARAJB1FI690912

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Blair Tindall
Editorial: Grove Press
ISBN 10: 0802142532 ISBN 13: 9780802142535
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 20
Librería
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Paperback. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780802142535

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,66
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda