Pascal Mercier Night Train to Lisbon

ISBN 13: 9780802118585

Night Train to Lisbon

3,7 valoración promedio
( 12.786 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780802118585: Night Train to Lisbon
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by Mercier Pascal

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

"A life lesson and a model of lucidity." "One of the great European novels of the past few years." "A book in which poetry and philosophy are intimately Intertwined." "A book of astonishing richness ... a visionary writer ... a deserved international smash." "A sensation. The best book of the last ten years ... A novel of incredible clarity and beauty." "Mercier draws together all the big existential questions in this masterful novel.... Visionary." "One reads this book almost breathlessly, can hardly put it down . . . A handbook for the soul, intellect, and heart." "One book particularly impressed me, as it contains style, narrative richness, and philosophy within it: Night Train to Lisbon by Pascal Mercier. I read it in three nights. Then I was convinced to change my life."

Reseña del editor:

A major hit in Germany that spent 140 weeks on the best-seller list and went on to become one of Europe's biggest literary blockbusters in the last five years, Night Train to Lisbon now introduces to the English-language world the critically acclaimed Swiss author Pascal Mercier. It is an astonishing novel, a large-scale international literary feat in the vein of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Daniel Kehlmann, and a compelling exploration of consciousness, the possibility of truly understanding another person, and the ability of language to define our very selves. Raimund Gregorius is a Latin teacher at a Swiss college with a vast knowledge of Greek and Hebrew who one day--after a chance encounter with a mysterious Portuguese woman--abandons his old life to start a new one. He takes the night train to Lisbon and carries with him a book by Amadeu de Prado, a (fictional) Portuguese doctor and essayist whose writings explore the ideas of loneliness, mortality, death, friendship, love, and loyalty. Chafing against his solitary routine for the first time in his life, Gregorius becomes obsessed by what he reads and restlessly struggles to comprehend the life of the author. His investigations lead him all over the city of Lisbon, as he speaks to those who were entangled in Prado's life. Gradually, the picture of an extraordinary man emerges--a doctor and poet who rebelled against Salazar's dictatorship. Recalling Bernhard Schlink and Nicole Krauss in its affirmation of the power of literature, will, and the individual, Night Train to Lisbon is a book of sensual beauty and artistic excellence, one that will be remembered for its soul and wit as well as its universality and great intellectual depth.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Pascal Mercier
Publicado por Grove Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0802118585 ISBN 13: 9780802118585
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press, 2007. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M0802118585

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 32,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Pascal Mercier, Barbara Harshav (Translator)
Publicado por Grove Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0802118585 ISBN 13: 9780802118585
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: DADAX0802118585

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 28,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,06
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Mercier, Pascal; Harshav, Barbara [Translator]
Publicado por Grove Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0802118585 ISBN 13: 9780802118585
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
retrolink2
(Warrington, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. thick Hard back book New with jacket*[br ] Unmarked*Ships securely*. Nº de ref. del artículo: 010914042

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 41,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Mercier, Pascal
Publicado por Grove Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0802118585 ISBN 13: 9780802118585
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove Press, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P110802118585

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,62
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío