Barry McCrea The First Verse: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780786715138

The First Verse: A Novel

3,35 valoración promedio
( 278 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780786715138: The First Verse: A Novel

This memorable debut novel explores Dublin’s every corner, including a first-of-its-kind portrayal of its thriving gay nightlife, through the eyes of a young man seduced by a secret society’s ancient reading rituals, based on the sortes virgilianae. In brilliant prose, author Barry McCrea gives readers a psychologically gripping tale set within the intertwining worlds of literature and the living.

When freshman Niall Lenihan moves to Trinity College, he dives into unfamiliar social scenes, quickly becoming fascinated by a reclusive pair of students—literary “mystics” who let signs and symbols from books determine their actions. Reluctantly, they admit him to their private sessions, and what begins as an intriguing game for Niall becomes increasingly esoteric, dramatic, and addictive. As Niall discovers the true nature of the pursuits in which he has become entangled, The First Verse traces a young man’s search for identity, companionship, and a cult’s shadowy origins in the pages of literature and the people of a city. Fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History or Patricia Highsmith’s The Talented Mr. Ripley will be mesmerized by the strange, page-turning world of this astonishing first novel from a dazzling new literary voice.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Publisher:

THE FIRST VERSE was awarded the 2006 Ferro-Grumley Award for Fiction.

Past winners include AT SWIM TWO BOYS by Jamie O'Neill, THE MARRIED MAN by Edmund White, THE HOURS by Michael Cunningham, and THE STORY OF THE NIGHT by Colm Toibin.

From Booklist:

Pop-culture scholars have theorized that our digital age, which emphasizes the linear and logical, has created at least a generation or two starved for ancient rites and ritual, for the mystical, magical elements a world structured on bits and bytes lacks. How else to explain the multigenerational appeal of Harry Potter, The DaVinci Code, and even Joan of Arcadia? Some culture gurus suggest an almost cultlike yet mass hunger that seeks to use Code and its ilk to explain the world's mysteries. Into this milieu comes McCrea's first novel about Trinity College (Dublin) freshman Niall Lenihan, who dives into new experiences, in particular a cult that makes a game and, eventually, a dangerous addiction of signs and secrets its members derive from literature, e-mail, and text-messaging. Set in Paris as well as Dublin, McCrea's gay Gen X opus delivers sharp pacing and a sense of place colored by the state of mind that leads a young man to lose a year of his life to odd pursuits. Whitney Scott
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

McCrea, Barry
Editorial: Carroll & Graf Publishers, New York (2005)
ISBN 10: 0786715138 ISBN 13: 9780786715138
Nuevos Soft cover Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Casa del Libro A Specialty Bookstore
(Sultan, WA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Carroll & Graf Publishers, New York, 2005. Soft cover. Estado de conservación: New. 1st Edition. First Carroll & Graf Edition 2005. Nº de ref. de la librería 006298

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,86
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Barry McCrea
ISBN 10: 0786715138 ISBN 13: 9780786715138
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
Superlative Selections
(Franklin, TN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. New In-Stock Ships Same Day We Ship 7 Days A Week. Nº de ref. de la librería 0786715138-New

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,55
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

McCrea, Barry
Editorial: Carroll & Graf (2005)
ISBN 10: 0786715138 ISBN 13: 9780786715138
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 5
Librería
Redux Books
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Carroll & Graf, 2005. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. First Paperback Edition. New and UNREAD paperback from bookstore stock. May contain a price sticker.; 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed! Ships same or next business day!. Nº de ref. de la librería 121702140067

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

McCrea, Barry
Editorial: Carroll & Graf (2005)
ISBN 10: 0786715138 ISBN 13: 9780786715138
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Carroll & Graf, 2005. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110786715138

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 35,77
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Barry McCrea
Editorial: Carroll & Graf (2005)
ISBN 10: 0786715138 ISBN 13: 9780786715138
Nuevos Paperback Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Carroll & Graf, 2005. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0786715138

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

McCrea, Barry
Editorial: Carroll & Graf
ISBN 10: 0786715138 ISBN 13: 9780786715138
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Carroll & Graf. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0786715138 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0348815

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,24
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío