The Replacements: All Over but the Shouting: an Oral History

3,81 valoración promedio
( 1.397 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780760330623: The Replacements: All Over but the Shouting: an Oral History
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by Walsh Jim

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

Alt. legends gets the oral treatment. In the tradition of Legs McNeil and Gillian Mccain's Please Kill Me, Jim Walshutilises direct quotes to trace The Replacments frenetic journey from the suburbs to the brink of fame before falling into spectacular dissaray. The enduring infulence of the four=piece proto-po-punks - perhaps equally renowned for their boozy boorishness - is reflected in the diverse cast of interviewees ( Billie Joe Armstrong, Peter Buck, Rosanne Cash). The only dissenting voices here belong to the band themselves, who rail fiercly against their rich legacy - perhas unsurprisingly considering their self -destructive history. Minneapolis journalist Jim walsh offers an insider's view that will delight fans and intrigue the casual listener. Eight out of Ten Stars! --Classic Rock Magazine

It s a sad situation when the benchmark for all things eighties American independent rock is Michael Azerrad s Our Band Could Be Your Life. The Replacements were blessed with a chapter in Our Band, but thankfully Minneapolis journalist Jim Walsh a guy who was actually there to experience the Mats heyday and subsequent downfall has culled together arguably the definitive Replacements collection, a biography he calls All Over But the Shouting. Designed to follow the oral history blueprint established in Please Kill Me and Form the Velvets to the Voivods, Shouting pieces together reminisces from all the Mats, as well as from major players including Peter Jesperson, Lori Barbero, members of Hüsker Dü and Soul Asylum, and Craig Finn. Walsh traces the awkward beginnings of the band coming together, offering up rad memories from the Mats parents and siblings, the recounting of their legendary live shows and drunken escapades, memories of Bob Stinson s incredible guitar work, his antics and the drug abuse that ultimately, tragically brought him down, and the supreme dick, flannel-clad loser, and all around great songwriter Paul Westerberg during their intoxicated, substance-abused reign, where he seemingly was speaking for all of us losers-in-love in worn Chuck Taylors. The book is not without its shortcomings, however, although they are few and far between. Westerberg refused to be interviewed, so his quotes are extracted from previously published articles over the years, giving a somewhat disjointed makeup. No Matter. It s still fantastic to read about the much underreported Tim, Pleased to Meet Me, and Don t Tell a Soul years, and the mostly rare photos are a blast. What a f***ing great band, and a great book to boot. --Skyscraper magazine

This is the rollicking story of the notorious and celebrated band, the Replacements, as told by veteran music journalist Jim Walsh, and eye witness who was always at the periphery of the storm and often in its eye. A band in three acts: from its founding through its ascension from the club scene to the national indie circuit and a major label deal in 1985 to its slow and painfull implosion....journalist Jim Walsh tells the story of the band that began in a basement and was eventually celebrated by the Village Voice and Rolling Stone. Walsh follows The Replacements remarkable rise ( seven LP's, a spot on Saturday Night Live, a Grammy nomination) touring with REM and Tom Petty through to their equally thunderous downfall --Uncut

Reseña del editor:

At the dawn of "Morning in America"--a period that would nurse the rise of suit-and-tie culture--there emerged a national network of anti-corporate record shops, college radio stations, fanzines, nightclubs, and entrepreneurial record labels.

In the watershed year 1981, this "indie" scene fostered several seminal releases. Among recordings by bands such as Sonic Youth, Black Flag, Husker Du, The Minutemen, and R.E.M. was an album called "Sorry Ma . . . Forgot to Take Out the Trash", recorded by a scruffy, flannel-clad quartet from Minneapolis called The Replacements. Now, for the first time, all of the hearsay, half-truths, legends, and allegations associated with this maelstrom of a rock & roll band are unraveled in this oral history by longtime Twin Cities music journalist Jim Walsh.

Through interviews with family, friends, and fans; former manager Peter Jesperson; Twin/Tone record label cofounder Paul Stark; and musicians around the nation influenced by the band, Walsh lays bare with painful clarity a tale that unfolds like a tragic comedy in three perfect acts. Celebrated by national publications, "the Mats" often seemed more hell-bent on sabotaging their status as critical darlings than parlaying it. With their markedly apolitical stance amid their decidedly political peers, their uncool embrace of "classic rock" influences like KISS and The Faces, and their Dionysian appetites (and the resulting tendency to literally fall on their own faces), The Replacements lasted 12 years despite themselves.

From the bands founding to their rise through the local and national club circuits, their major label deal in 1985, and the slow and painful implosion that followed, The Replacements: All Over But the Shouting lays down the gripping oral history behind the little band that could--but didn't.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9780760334942: The Replacements: All Over but the Shouting: an Oral History

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  0760334943 ISBN 13:  9780760334942
Editorial: Voyageur Press Inc, 2009
Tapa blanda

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Walsh, Jim
Publicado por Voyageur Press
ISBN 10: 076033062X ISBN 13: 9780760330623
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
ACJBooks
(Staten Island, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Voyageur Press. Hardcover. Condición: New. 076033062X This is a hardcover book with dust jacket. Nº de ref. del artículo: 315W1

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,77
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,17
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Walsh, Jim
Publicado por Voyageur Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 076033062X ISBN 13: 9780760330623
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Voyageur Press, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P11076033062X

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 45,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Jim Walsh
Publicado por Voyageur Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 076033062X ISBN 13: 9780760330623
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Voyageur Press, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: DADAX076033062X

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,45
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Jim Walsh
Publicado por Voyageur Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 076033062X ISBN 13: 9780760330623
Nuevo Tapa dura Original o primera edición Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Voyageur Press, 2007. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M076033062X

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 54,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Jim Walsh
Publicado por Voyageur Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 076033062X ISBN 13: 9780760330623
Nuevo Tapa dura Original o primera edición Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Voyageur Press, 2007. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: MB00AZ9EIOU

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 54,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Walsh, Jim
Publicado por Voyageur Press
ISBN 10: 076033062X ISBN 13: 9780760330623
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Voyageur Press. Hardcover. Condición: New. 076033062X New Condition. Nº de ref. del artículo: NEW7.0885924

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 53,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,31
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío