The Drowning Ground (Guillermo Downes Thriller)

3,71 valoración promedio
( 129 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780718179106: The Drowning Ground (Guillermo Downes Thriller)

Chief Inspector Guillermo Downes is a long way from his native home of Argentina, heading up the police department in the English Cotswolds. But he isn't far enough to escape the memories of his past, or to lost the baggage he carries from the loss of two weeks to go missing-Downes makes a promise to the child's mother to find her no matter what it takes.


Ten years later, that promise remains unfulfilled. And though the girls are never far from his thoughts, the job goes on. The body of a local man, Frank Hurst, has just been found dead, sprawled on a hill in town. Frank Hurst also had a past. His second wife drowned in their swimming pool and his daughter, Rebecca, left home soon after. Downes remembers the case well. And although many in the town think Frank murdered his wife, his alibi was confirmed. Still, it now seems that there might be a connection between Frank and the missing girls, which might give Chief Inspector Downes another chance to make good on the promise he made all those years ago.


With the kind of insights into life in a seemingly peaceful village that made "Broadchurch" so powerful, James Marrison's "The Drowning Ground" introduces a terrific new voice in crime fiction.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

JAMES MARRISON is a journalist with a Master's degree in history, specializing in American Secret Intelligence, from the University of Edinburgh in England. Marrison was a regular contributor to "Bizarre "magazine in the UK, where he wrote about true crime, and he also wrote for an English language newspaper in Buenos Aires, Argentina, where he now lives. "The Drowning Ground "is his first novel.

Review:

“With an intricate plot with numerous twists and an intriguing cop with a complex history, Marrison rivets the reader straight through to the novel’s chilling conclusion. An author to watch, [Marrison] scores high with this impressive debut.” ―Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Something wicked is afoot in Marrison's tense debut, set in the quiet picturesque villages of the English Cotswolds. . . . Marrison, who was educated at the University of Edinburgh and now lives in Buenos Aires, expertly evokes a sense of place through descriptions of Cotswolds life. [Chief Inspector Guillermo] Downes's reminiscences of his Argentinian heritage lend color. The highly unusual denouement will catch most readers by surprise.” ―Publishers Weekly

“Marrison leaves just enough unexplained about his shrewd, moody protagonist to make you hope he'll return in a sequel.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Downes is an intriguing fish-out-of-water detective...Marrison's well-plotted mystery debut may appeal to fans of Elizabeth George and Peter Robinson.” ―Booklist

“An intriguing debut....Taut and told with panache.” ―The Daily Mail

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,06
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Marrison, James
Editorial: Michael Joseph (2015)
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Michael Joseph, 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0001631876

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,72
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,06
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Marrison, James
Editorial: Michael Joseph (2015)
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Michael Joseph, 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. First Edition. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000515355

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,80
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

James Marrison
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97807181791060000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Marrison, James
Editorial: Michael Joseph Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Michael Joseph Ltd, 2015. Estado de conservación: New. A man is found dead near his home with a pitchfork through his neck. When DCI Guillermo Downes is called to the scene he realizes the victim is well known to him. A decade earlier, Downes made a promise to the families of two missing girls that he would find their daughters. Series: Guillermo Downes Thriller. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 162 x 243 x 36. Weight in Grams: 638. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780718179106

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,41
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Marrison, James
Editorial: Michael Joseph Ltd
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Michael Joseph Ltd. Estado de conservación: New. A man is found dead near his home with a pitchfork through his neck. When DCI Guillermo Downes is called to the scene he realizes the victim is well known to him. A decade earlier, Downes made a promise to the families of two missing girls that he would find their daughters. Series: Guillermo Downes Thriller. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 162 x 243 x 36. Weight in Grams: 638. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. de la librería V9780718179106

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

James Marrison
Editorial: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books Ltd. Hardback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, The Drowning Ground, James Marrison, James Marrison's chilling debut, The Drowning Ground, will plunge readers into of the secrets, fears and lies of a small community. Perfect for fans of hit TV series Broadchurch and The Missing. "Dark, Gripping And Unexpected." (Linwood Barclay). A man is found dead near his home with a pitchfork through his neck. When DCI Guillermo Downes is called to the scene he realizes the victim is well known to him. A decade earlier, Downes made a promise to the families of two missing girls that he would find their daughters. Although cleared of any involvement, the dead man had been a suspect in their disappearance. And as the ripples from his death spread through the local community it happens to offer fresh hope that the detective might finally make good on his promise. But as Downes, tormented by his own troubled past, pursues the case alongside a new partner, Sergeant Graves, it soon becomes clear to them both that there's a darkness at the heart of the investigation more dreadful than either could ever have imagined. As past and present bind ever more tightly, Downes and Graves are forced to confront a terrible truth that lies just beneath the surface. Praise for The Drowning Ground: "An Argentinian DCI in the heart of middle England brings a thoughtful outsider's viewpoint to a murder that has troubling links to unsolved crimes from the past. Guillermo Downes' intelligent, intuitive policework keeps the pages turning." (Sunday Times). "Marrison's tense debut expertly evokes a sense of place.the highly unusual denouement will catch most readers by surprise." (Publishers Weekly). Nº de ref. de la librería B9780718179106

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,74
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

James Marrison
Editorial: Michael Joseph (2015)
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Michael Joseph, 2015. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería GH9780718179106

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,51
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

James Marrison
Editorial: Penguin Books Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books Ltd, 2015. HRD. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería GB-9780718179106

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,31
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,04
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

James Marrison
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Not Signed; James Marrison's chilling debut, the Drowning Ground, will plunge readers into of the secrets, fears and lies of a small community. It is perfect for fans of hit TV series Broadchurch and The Missing. Dark, Gripping and unexpexted. (Linwood Barclay). A man is found dead near his home with a pitch. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780718179106_rkm

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,38
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,31
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

James Marrison
ISBN 10: 0718179102 ISBN 13: 9780718179106
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0718179102. Nº de ref. de la librería ST0718179102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,65
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda