White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School

3,74 valoración promedio
( 549 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780688175894: White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by Rothman Ellen L Rothman Ellen

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

"A medical student's thoughtful and revealing chronicle of growing into the white coat of a doctor . . . told with clarity, candor, and grace."--"Kirkus Reviews"

"Rothman, whose interest in medical ethics led her to medical school, possesses a journalist's eye for detail and makes engrossing reading of even the most mundane tasks associated with medical training. She also lets us follow her romance with a fellow student, adding another dimension to this unflinching look at the healing profession."--"Chicago Tribune"

Reseña del editor:

"White Coat" is Dr. Ellen Lerner Rothman's vivid account of her four years at Harvard Medical School. Describing the grueling hours and emotional hurdles she underwent to earn the degree of M.D., Dr. Rothman tells the story of one woman's transformation from a terrified first-year medical studen into a confident, competent doctor. Touching on the most relevant issues in medicine today--such as HMOs, aIDS, and assisted suicide--Dr. Rothman recounts her despair and exhilaration as a medical student, from the stress of exams to th hard-won rewards that came from treating patients. The anecdotes in "White Coat" are funny, heartbreaking, and at times horrifying. Each chapter taes us deeper into Dr. Rothman's medical school experience, illuminating her struggle to walk the line between too much and not enough intimacy with her patients. For readers of Perri Klass and Richard Selzer, Dr. Rothman looks candidly at medicine and presents an unvarnished perspective on a subject that matters to us all. "White Coat" opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor in a book that will change the way we look at our medical establishment.In "White Coat," Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives. With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range ofexperiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat. For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world. In "White Coat," Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives. With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat. For readers of Perri Klass, RichardSelzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9780688153137: White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Hardvard Medical School

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  0688153135 ISBN 13:  9780688153137
Editorial: William Morrow & Co, 1999
Tapa dura

9780742937420: White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School

Tapa dura

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Rothman, Ellen L.
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2000. PAP. Condición: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. del artículo: VC-9780688175894

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,49
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Rothman, Ellen L.
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 9
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2000. PAP. Condición: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. del artículo: IB-9780688175894

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,05
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Rothman, Ellen L
Publicado por Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Collins Publishers. Condición: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. del artículo: 0688175899

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,71
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,09
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899 Brand New Direct from the Publisher! Not overstocks or marked up remainders! Ships in a sturdy cardboard container with tracking!. Nº de ref. del artículo: OTF-S-9780688175894

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0688175899ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0688175899ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0688175899ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0688175899ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0688175899ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Publicado por William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0688175899. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0688175899ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda