The Great Disruption: Human Nature and the Reconstitution of Social Order

3,47 valoración promedio
( 203 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780684865775: The Great Disruption: Human Nature and the Reconstitution of Social Order

In the past thirty years, the United States has undergone a profound transformation in its social structure: Crime has increased, trust has declined, families have broken down, and individualism has triumphed over community. Has the Great Disruption of recent decades rent the fabric of American society irreparably? In this brilliant and sweeping work of social, economic, and moral analysis, Francis Fukuyama shows that even as the old order has broken apart, a new social order is already taking its place. The Great Disruption forges a new model for understanding the Great Reconstruction that is under way.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

Francis Fukuyama cements his reputation as a wide-ranging public intellectual with this big-think book on social order and human nature. Following his earlier successes (The End of History and the Last Man and Trust), Fukuyama argues that civilization is in the midst of a revolution on a par with hunter-gatherers learning how to farm or agricultural societies turning industrial. He finds much to celebrate in this cultural, economic, and technological transformation, but "with all the blessings that flow from a more complex, information-based economy, certain bad things also happened to our social and moral life." Individualism, for example, fuels innovation and prosperity, but has also "corroded virtually all forms of authority and weakened the bonds holding families, neighborhoods, and nations together." Yet this is not a pessimistic book: "Social order, once disrupted, tends to get remade again" because humans are built for life in a civil society governed by moral rules.

We're on the tail end of the "great disruption," says Fukuyama, and signs suggest a coming era of much-needed social reordering. He handles complex ideas from diverse fields with ease (this is certainly the first book whose acknowledgments thank both science fiction novelist Neal Stephenson and social critic James Q. Wilson), and he writes with laser-sharp clarity. Fans of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel and David Landes's The Wealth and Poverty of Nations will appreciate The Great Disruption, as will just about any reader curious about what the new millennium may bring. This is simply one of the best nonfiction books of 1999. --John J. Miller

About the Author:

Francis Fukuyama is a professor of public policy at George Mason University and the author of The End of History and the Last Man and Trust: The Social Virtues and the Creation of Prosperity. He lives in McLean, Virginia.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Francis Fukuyama
Editorial: Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon and Schuster. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0684865777

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,01
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Francis Fukuyama
Editorial: Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education company) (2000)
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education company), 2000. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IQ-9780684865775

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,31
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,43
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Francis Fukuyama
Editorial: Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education Company), United Kingdom (2000)
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education Company), United Kingdom, 2000. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. In the past thirty years, the United States has undergone a profound transformation in its social structure: Crime has increased, trust has declined, families have broken down, and individualism has triumphed over community. Has the Great Disruption of recent decades rent the fabric of American society irreparably? In this brilliant and sweeping work of social, economic, and moral analysis, Francis Fukuyama shows that even as the old order has broken apart, a new social order is already taking its place. The Great Disruption forges a new model for understanding the Great Reconstruction that is under way. Nº de ref. de la librería AAV9780684865775

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Francis Fukuyama
Editorial: Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education Company), United Kingdom (2000)
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education Company), United Kingdom, 2000. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.In the past thirty years, the United States has undergone a profound transformation in its social structure: Crime has increased, trust has declined, families have broken down, and individualism has triumphed over community. Has the Great Disruption of recent decades rent the fabric of American society irreparably? In this brilliant and sweeping work of social, economic, and moral analysis, Francis Fukuyama shows that even as the old order has broken apart, a new social order is already taking its place. The Great Disruption forges a new model for understanding the Great Reconstruction that is under way. Nº de ref. de la librería AAV9780684865775

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,86
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Fukuyama, Francis
Editorial: Touchstone Press 2000-06 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Touchstone Press 2000-06, 2000. PF. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-LSI-06917773

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,71
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,35
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Francis Fukuyama
Editorial: Free Press (2000)
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press, 2000. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0684865777

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,43
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Francis Fukuyama
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. This item is Print on Demand - Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería POD_9780684865775

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,47
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Fukuyama, Francis
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Nº de ref. de la librería 1805825

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,43
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Francis Fukuyama
Editorial: Free Press
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 20
Librería
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Hardcover. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Hardcover. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780684865775

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Fukuyama, Francis
Editorial: Free Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 0684865777 ISBN 13: 9780684865775
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 9
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería 0684865777

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda