Enigma Variations

3,64 valoración promedio
( 14 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780674257283: Enigma Variations

Noted writers on art, culture, and the tropical Americas, Richard and Sally Price have crafted a mystery at the intersections of art and anthropology. Drawing readers into their quest for a solution, they build an unusual partnership between text and pictures, daringly expanding the possibilities of academic discourse. Enigma Variations--in the tradition of The Recognitions and The Crying of Lot 49--is an entertainment as readable for its intellectual power as for its irresistible drama.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Back Cover:

In a steamy colonial city, an eccentric Frenchman offers for sale an extraordinary collection of primitive art. The two anthropologists called in to appraise the pieces for the national museum quickly find themselves in a murky world where the boundaries of authenticity and deception blur in the tropical heat. What begins as an intellectual puzzle threatens to turn into a deadly confrontation. As the game of cat-and-mouse unfolds, the trail leads from the fashionable living rooms of French expatriates to the thatched huts of the Amazonian rainforest, from a Princeton seminar room to a cluttered warehouse not far from Devil's Island, from a chic Parisian cafe to the cobbled streets of northeastern Brazil. Are the objects in the collection worldclass masterpieces of primitive art? Or do they reflect the agile hand and twisted mind of a brilliant forger? Or might the ultimate enigma be of an entirely different nature? Under the equatorial sun, the anthropologists' obsessive pursuit of Truth gradually undermines their academic certainties about art and culture - and, ultimately, their vision of reality itself.

About the Author:

Richard Price is Dittman Professor of American Studies and Professor of Anthropology and History at College of William and Mary in Virginia.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Price, Richard;Price, Sally
Editorial: Cumbreland, Rhode Island, U.S.A.: Harvard Univ Pr (1997)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Soft cover Cantidad: 2
Librería
Mima Mia Books
(Boston, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cumbreland, Rhode Island, U.S.A.: Harvard Univ Pr, 1997. Soft cover. Estado de conservación: New. Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng. Nº de ref. de la librería P79

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Richard Price
Editorial: Harvard University Press (1997)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 1997. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IQ-9780674257283

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,53
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Richard Price; Sally Price
Editorial: Harvard University Press (1997)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 1997. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0674257286

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Richard PriceSally Price
Editorial: Harvard University Press
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0674257286

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,95
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Price, Richard
Editorial: Harvard University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería 0674257286

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,47
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Richard Price, Sally Price
Editorial: HARVARD UNIVERSITY PRESS, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HARVARD UNIVERSITY PRESS, United States, 1997. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Noted writers on art, culture, and the tropical Americas, Richard and Sally Price have crafted a mystery at the intersections of art and anthropology. Drawing readers into their quest for a solution, they build an unusual partnership between text and pictures, daringly expanding the possibilities of academic discourse. Enigma Variations--in the tradition of The Recognitions and The Crying of Lot 49--is an entertainment as readable for its intellectual power as for its irresistible drama. Nº de ref. de la librería APC9780674257283

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Richard Price, Sally Price
Editorial: HARVARD UNIVERSITY PRESS, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HARVARD UNIVERSITY PRESS, United States, 1997. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Noted writers on art, culture, and the tropical Americas, Richard and Sally Price have crafted a mystery at the intersections of art and anthropology. Drawing readers into their quest for a solution, they build an unusual partnership between text and pictures, daringly expanding the possibilities of academic discourse. Enigma Variations--in the tradition of The Recognitions and The Crying of Lot 49--is an entertainment as readable for its intellectual power as for its irresistible drama. Nº de ref. de la librería APC9780674257283

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Price, Richard
Editorial: Harvard University Press 10/15/1997 (1997)
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Paperback or Softback Cantidad: 10
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press 10/15/1997, 1997. Paperback or Softback. Estado de conservación: New. Enigma Variations. Book. Nº de ref. de la librería BBS-9780674257283

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Richard Price; Sally Price
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780674257283_ing

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,00
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Price, Richard,Price, Sally
Editorial: Harvard Univ Press
ISBN 10: 0674257286 ISBN 13: 9780674257283
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
C. Clayton Thompson - Bookseller
(BOONE, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard Univ Press. Estado de conservación: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Nº de ref. de la librería 2364905

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda