A People's History of the Supreme Court

4,04 valoración promedio
( 953 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780670870066: A People's History of the Supreme Court

A major work of history, by a renowned legal scholar, chronicles an institution that affects the life of every American.

In the tradition of Howard Zinn's The People's History of the United States, Peter Irons brings to the history of our Supreme Court the "human touch" (San Diego Union) of the first-person stories of his own classic book The Courage of Their Convictions. This sweeping account of the Supreme Court traces its path from the Constitutional Convention of 1787 to its controversial rulings on free speech, racial segregation, abortion, and gay rights.

"When Peter Irons looks at an institution," says Kenneth Karst of UCLA Law School, "he sees the people who are its lifeblood." A People's History of the Supreme Court views that vital institution from both sides of the mahogany bench.

Irons provides sketches of every justice from John Jay to Stephen Breyer and portraits of such legal giants as John Marshall, Roger Taney, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Hugo Black, Earl Warren, and Thurgood Marshall. But the people who stand in the foreground of this vivid historical mural are ordinary Americans like Dred Scott, Homer Plessy, and Michael Hardwick. The cases they brought to the Supreme Court forced the justices to confront the Constitution's promise that every American deserves "the blessings of liberty." And in this fascinating work, Irons recounts the landmark decisions in which the Court both honored and broke that promise, in cases that span more than two centuries.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

The savvy, chatty author of The Courage of Their Convictions brings us a scholarly reckoning of the 200-plus years of decisions made by the highest court in the land. Not surprisingly (and justifiably, given his erudite arguments), Peter H. Irons represents the court's work as a never-ending appeal of the powerless to the powerful: of the just over 100 supreme justices who have sat on the court, all but two have been white, all but two have been men, and all but seven have been Christian, whereas the supplicants to our nation's highest bar are typically racial minorities, women, and deviants in some way from the religious and social mainstream.

Taking a representative (if not comprehensive) accounting of the Supreme Court's most significant decisions, Irons puts cultural and political context--and a human face--to the parties involved, painting an absorbing and involving picture of landmark cases that readers are likely to recall but not fully understand. Whether he's explicating the tortuous history of freedom-seeking slave Dred Scott or explaining the "a Jap's a Jap" reasoning behind the legal exculpation of World War II internment camps, Irons reminds us of the court's spotted history while still conveying the deep affection he has for it. (Includes a thoughtful appendix with the complete text of the Constitution and suggestions for further reading.) --Paul Hughes

From the Back Cover:

It is such good reading that we allow the author to lead us places in history that we might not have expected to travel. (The Boston Globe)

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Irons, Peter
Editorial: Viking Press (1999)
ISBN 10: 0670870064 ISBN 13: 9780670870066
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
J. C. Burris, Bookseller
(Plantation, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking Press, 1999. Hard Cover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: As New. Unread hardcover book still in publisher's shrinkwrap with dust jacket that has a little edge wear. Out of print in hardcover. Nº de ref. de la librería 008625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,31
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Irons, Peter
Editorial: Viking Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0670870064 ISBN 13: 9780670870066
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
24/7 BOOKS
(Ypsilanti, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 100% buyer satisfaction guarantee. *Some of our items are sealed to protect them during shipping and to maintain their listed condition* International orders over 2lbs may be subject to shipping price adjustments. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000085865

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 49,71
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,96
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Irons, Peter
Editorial: Viking Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0670870064 ISBN 13: 9780670870066
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110670870064

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Peter Irons, Howard Zinn (Preface)
Editorial: Viking Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0670870064 ISBN 13: 9780670870066
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0670870064

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 70,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío