Nick Hayes The Rime of the Modern Mariner

ISBN 13: 9780670025800

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

3,75 valoración promedio
( 440 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780670025800: The Rime of the Modern Mariner

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem

Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Mariner is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch—thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.

Hayes’s visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem’s enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man’s thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Mariner will appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Nick Hayes is a political cartoonist for The Guardian and was a founding editor of Meat Magazine, which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two Guardian media awards.

Review:

"Nick Hayes has somehow or other managed to channel and combine the spirits of Coleridge, William Morris, the Romantic poets, most American 60s underground comix artists, probably Eric Gill, possibly a hippy chick who once offered you a bowl of lentils at Glastonbury and doubtlessly the fiercest eco-warrior you can imagine... and succeeded in producing something simultaneously poetical, polemical and frequently beautiful. An extraordinary achievement." -- Martin Rowson "The Rime of the Modern Mariner achieves a powerful cumulative effect, and the Mariner's environmental message will surely influence many readers who will never casually discard another plastic carrier bag or water bottle" -- Paul Gravett * Times Literary Supplement *

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Hayes, Nick
Editorial: Viking (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670025801 ISBN 13: 9780670025800
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking, 2012. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110670025801

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 50,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Hayes, Nick
Editorial: Viking
ISBN 10: 0670025801 ISBN 13: 9780670025800
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0670025801 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0244353

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,56
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Hayes, Nick
Editorial: Viking Adult (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670025801 ISBN 13: 9780670025800
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0670025801

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 142,66
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Hayes, Nick
Editorial: Viking
ISBN 10: 0670025801 ISBN 13: 9780670025800
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viking. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0670025801 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería TM-0670025801

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 151,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío