Art and Artists Fiona MacCarthy Eric Gill

ISBN 13: 9780571143023

Eric Gill

3,7 valoración promedio
( 63 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780571143023: Eric Gill

Eric Gill was perhaps the greatest English artist-craftsman of the twentieth century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. 'A wonderfully detailed account of his personality - so vivid, you feel you know just what it would have been like to visit him at one of his patriarchal communes ...A Dominican, dining with the Gills, once thought he saw a nimbus shining around Eric's head. Despite the sexual improprieties it unearths, MacCarthy's authoritative biography allows you to understand how someone might have thought that.' John Carey, Sunday Times

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

A well-known broadcaster and critic, Fiona MacCarthy established herself as one of the leading writers of biography in Britain with her widely acclaimed book Eric Gill, published in 1989. Her biography of Byron was described by A. N. Wilson as 'a flawless triumph' and William Morris won the Wolfson History Prize and the Writers' Guild Non-Fiction Award. She most recently published Last Curtsey, a memoir of her early life as a debutante. Fiona is a Senior Fellow of the Royal College of Art, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and an Hon. Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford. She was awarded the OBE for services to literature in 2009.

From Publishers Weekly:

An English artist-craftsman in the tradition of William Morris, Eric Gill (1882-1940) exemplifies the search for a lifestyle to heal the split between work and leisure, art and industry. He is remembered today for his fine engravings and stone carvings, his legendary typefaces and book designs for the Golden Cockerel Press. Yet there was another side to the man, downplayed by previous biographers: a fervent convert to Catholicism and leader of three Catholic arts-and-crafts communes, Gill had a hyperactive libido which extended to incest with his sisters and daughters, as well as numerous extramarital affairs, according to British writer MacCarthy. He rationalized his penile acrobatics by inventing a bizarre pseudoreligious theory. In MacCarthy's candid portrait, Gill, who preserved the outward image of a devout father-figure, was neither saint nor humbug, but a highly sexed creative artist trapped by his Victorian concept of masculinity. This charismatic firebrand was a renegade Fabian socialist, a bohemian friend of Augustus John and Bertrand Russell. His adventurous life, as re-created in this beautifully written, absorbing biography, is disturbingly relevant to our time. Photos.
Copyright 1989 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Fiona MacCarthy
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Cantidad: 10
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97805711430230000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Fiona MacCarthy
Editorial: FABER FABER, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción FABER FABER, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Main. Language: English . Brand New Book. Eric Gill was perhaps the greatest English artist-craftsman of the twentieth century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. A wonderfully detailed account of his personality - so vivid, you feel you know just what it would have been like to visit him at one of his patriarchal communes .A Dominican, dining with the Gills, once thought he saw a nimbus shining around Eric s head. Despite the sexual improprieties it unearths, MacCarthy s authoritative biography allows you to understand how someone might have thought that. John Carey, Sunday Times. Nº de ref. de la librería AA99780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,12
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Fiona MacCarthy
Editorial: FABER FABER, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción FABER FABER, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Main.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Eric Gill was perhaps the greatest English artist-craftsman of the twentieth century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. A wonderfully detailed account of his personality - so vivid, you feel you know just what it would have been like to visit him at one of his patriarchal communes .A Dominican, dining with the Gills, once thought he saw a nimbus shining around Eric s head. Despite the sexual improprieties it unearths, MacCarthy s authoritative biography allows you to understand how someone might have thought that. John Carey, Sunday Times. Nº de ref. de la librería AA99780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,12
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

MacCarthy, Fiona
Editorial: Faber & Faber (1989)
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 10
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Faber & Faber, 1989. Estado de conservación: New. Eric Gill, who died in 1940, was among the greatest English artist-craftsmen of the 20th century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius, and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. In this biography, the problems and contradictions of Gill the man and Gill the artist are examined. Num Pages: 416 pages, 64 illustrations. BIC Classification: 3JH; 3JJ; AGB; BG. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 232 x 154 x 29. Weight in Grams: 550. . 1989. New ed. Paperback. . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,20
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

MacCarthy, Fiona
Editorial: Faber & Faber
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 10
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Faber & Faber. Estado de conservación: New. Eric Gill, who died in 1940, was among the greatest English artist-craftsmen of the 20th century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius, and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. In this biography, the problems and contradictions of Gill the man and Gill the artist are examined. Num Pages: 416 pages, 64 illustrations. BIC Classification: 3JH; 3JJ; AGB; BG. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 232 x 154 x 29. Weight in Grams: 550. . 1989. New ed. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. de la librería V9780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,92
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Fiona MacCarthy
Editorial: Faber & Faber
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Faber & Faber. Paperback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, Eric Gill (Main), Fiona MacCarthy, Eric Gill was perhaps the greatest English artist-craftsman of the twentieth century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. 'A wonderfully detailed account of his personality - so vivid, you feel you know just what it would have been like to visit him at one of his patriarchal communes .A Dominican, dining with the Gills, once thought he saw a nimbus shining around Eric's head. Despite the sexual improprieties it unearths, MacCarthy's authoritative biography allows you to understand how someone might have thought that.' John Carey, Sunday Times. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,76
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Fiona MacCarthy
Editorial: Faber & Faber (2003)
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Faber & Faber, 2003. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería GH9780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,38
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Fiona MacCarthy
Editorial: Faber & Faber 2003-11-06, London (2003)
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Faber & Faber 2003-11-06, London, 2003. paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780571143023

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,51
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,36
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Fiona MacCarthy
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0571143024. Nº de ref. de la librería ST0571143024

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,82
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Fiona MacCarthy
ISBN 10: 0571143024 ISBN 13: 9780571143023
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Not Signed; Eric Gill was perhaps the greatest English artist-craftsman of the twentieth century: a typographer and lettercutter of genius and a master in the art of sculpture and wood-engraving. 'A wonderfully detailed account of his personality - so vivid, you feel you know just what it would have been like t. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780571143023_rkm

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,33
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda