Travel Shah, Tahir The Caliph'S House

ISBN 13: 9780553383102

The Caliph'S House

3,96 valoración promedio
( 4.204 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780553383102: The Caliph'S House

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Shah, Tahir
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97805533831020000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

SHAH, TAHIR
Editorial: Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Random House. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0553383108

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Shah, Tahir
Editorial: BANTAM DELL (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Cantidad: 8
Librería
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción BANTAM DELL, 2006. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780553383102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Shah, Tahir
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 4
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 847505

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Tahir Shah
Editorial: Random House USA Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House USA Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 208 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge-and nothing is as easy as it seems. Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city s caliph, or spiritual leader. With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir s fantasy-until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home. From the Hardcover edition. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9780553383102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Tahir Shah
Editorial: Random House USA Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House USA Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 208 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge-and nothing is as easy as it seems. Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city s caliph, or spiritual leader. With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir s fantasy-until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home. From the Hardcover edition. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9780553383102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,42
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Shah, Tahir
Editorial: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 7
Librería
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Bantam. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0553383108 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Nº de ref. de la librería 4211063

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,02
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Shah, Tahir
Editorial: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Bantam. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0553383108 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería SWATI2122048586

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Shah, Tahir
Editorial: Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 8
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Bantam, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0553383108

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,77
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Shah, Tahir
Editorial: Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553383108 ISBN 13: 9780553383102
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Bantam, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería BKTY9780553383102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,55
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda