Sarah Darer Littman Purge

ISBN 13: 9780545052351

Purge

3,77 valoración promedio
( 2.412 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780545052351: Purge

From acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman, a striking story about a girl's recovery from bulimia in the tradition of CUT, PERFECT, and GIRL INTERRUPTED.

Janie Ryman hates throwing up. So why does she binge eat and then stick her fingers down her throat several times a day? That’s what the doctors and psychiatrists at Golden Slopes hope to help her discover. But first Janie must survive everyday conflicts between the Barfers and the Starvers, attempts by the head psychiatrist to fish painful memories out of her emotional waters, and shifting friendships and alliances among the kids in the ward.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Sarah Darer Littman's widely praised first novel for teens, CONFESSIONS OF A CLOSET CATHOLIC, won the 2006 Sydney Taylor Book Award. She is also the author of the YA novel PURGE. She lives in Connecticut with her family and a house which never seems to have enough bookshelves.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 8 Up–Stuck with a bunch of Barfers and Starvers, Janie, 16, describes her experiences at Golden Slopes, a rehab facility. Partly dead serious and partly humorous, her narrative slowly changes as she goes from believing that she's almost normal to understanding that she is sick and needs help. Other patients include various girls, an older woman, and a couple of boys, all of whom have wide-ranging issues at the heart of their pain. While other books are more realistic about the time involved in treating eating disorders, Littman provides a sympathetic character and a quick overview of treatment and hopeful progress. Janie moves from denial of habitual bulimia to release back to her regular routine in only three weeks. Her parents are loving, her family is loyal, and her friends are forgiving. The universality of Janie's blindness to her own behavior is clearly portrayed, as is her later insight into her destructive choices. Drinking and sexual situations are necessary to the plot and are described realistically. This is a worthy addition to the current books on the topic for its relatively lighter touch and accessibility.–Carol A. Edwards, Denver Public Library
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Sarah Darer Littman, Sarah Littman
Editorial: Scholastic Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0545052351 ISBN 13: 9780545052351
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scholastic Press, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0545052351

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 29,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,43
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Littman, Sarah Darer
Editorial: Scholastic Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0545052351 ISBN 13: 9780545052351
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scholastic Press, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110545052351

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 43,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Littman, Sarah Darer
Editorial: Scholastic Press
ISBN 10: 0545052351 ISBN 13: 9780545052351
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scholastic Press. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0545052351 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW6.0292795

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 61,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,29
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío