Benjamin Kidd: Portrait of a Social Darwinist

0 valoración promedio
( 0 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780521107358: Benjamin Kidd: Portrait of a Social Darwinist

This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer. His first book Social Evolution, published in 1894, was an immediate and enormous success around the world. In it, Kidd developed a collectivist form of Social Darwinism in tune with the values of Progressivism in America and the 'new liberalism' in Britain. By many it was regarded as the basis for a properly scientific sociology, and the combination of its claims to scientific methodology, with an emphasis on non-rational forces as the agents of progress accurately caught the temper of its times. Launched on his career as a writer, Kidd's subsequent books and journalism continued to exercise extraordinary influence. His 'social imperialism', linking a bio-political defence of empire with a programme of social reform, won currency in the Anglo-American world at a time of expansionary fervour.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Book Description:

This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

D.P. Crook
Editorial: CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer. His first book Social Evolution, published in 1894, was an immediate and enormous success around the world. In it, Kidd developed a collectivist form of Social Darwinism in tune with the values of Progressivism in America and the new liberalism in Britain. By many it was regarded as the basis for a properly scientific sociology, and the combination of its claims to scientific methodology, with an emphasis on non-rational forces as the agents of progress accurately caught the temper of its times. Launched on his career as a writer, Kidd s subsequent books and journalism continued to exercise extraordinary influence. His social imperialism , linking a bio-political defence of empire with a programme of social reform, won currency in the Anglo-American world at a time of expansionary fervour. Nº de ref. de la librería AAV9780521107358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 43,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Crook, D. P.
Editorial: Cambridge University Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cambridge University Press, 2016. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780521107358_lsuk

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 41,56
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,39
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

D.P. Crook
Editorial: CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer. His first book Social Evolution, published in 1894, was an immediate and enormous success around the world. In it, Kidd developed a collectivist form of Social Darwinism in tune with the values of Progressivism in America and the new liberalism in Britain. By many it was regarded as the basis for a properly scientific sociology, and the combination of its claims to scientific methodology, with an emphasis on non-rational forces as the agents of progress accurately caught the temper of its times. Launched on his career as a writer, Kidd s subsequent books and journalism continued to exercise extraordinary influence. His social imperialism , linking a bio-political defence of empire with a programme of social reform, won currency in the Anglo-American world at a time of expansionary fervour. Nº de ref. de la librería AAV9780521107358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

D. P. CROOK
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: NEW. 9780521107358 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Nº de ref. de la librería HTANDREE0445551

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 9,07
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Crook, D. P.
Editorial: Cambridge University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cambridge University Press, 2009. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería LQ-9780521107358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 40,41
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,21
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Crook, D. P.
Editorial: Cambridge University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cambridge University Press, 2009. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IQ-9780521107358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 49,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Crook, D. P.
Editorial: Cambridge University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cambridge University Press, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería INGM9780521107358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 48,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

D. P. Crook
Editorial: Cambridge University Press
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cambridge University Press. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 472 pages. Dimensions: 8.3in. x 5.5in. x 1.3in.This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer. His first book Social Evolution, published in 1894, was an immediate and enormous success around the world. In it, Kidd developed a collectivist form of Social Darwinism in tune with the values of Progressivism in America and the new liberalism in Britain. By many it was regarded as the basis for a properly scientific sociology, and the combination of its claims to scientific methodology, with an emphasis on non-rational forces as the agents of progress accurately caught the temper of its times. Launched on his career as a writer, Kidds subsequent books and journalism continued to exercise extraordinary influence. His social imperialism, linking a bio-political defence of empire with a programme of social reform, won currency in the Anglo-American world at a time of expansionary fervour. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780521107358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 53,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

D. P. Crook
Editorial: Cambridge University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0521107350 ISBN 13: 9780521107358
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cambridge University Press, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0521107350

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 72,49
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío