Literature Ken Follett World Without End

ISBN 13: 9780451418449

World Without End

4,23 valoración promedio
( 141.817 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780451418449: World Without End

Book by Follett Ken

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

"A lively entertainment for fans of "The Once and Future King," "The Lord of the Rings" and other multilayered epics." --"Kirkus Reviews," Starred Review "Fans of Follett's previous medieval epic will be well rewarded" -- "Publishers Weekly"

The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Othersthe good-hearted varlets, churls and nickpurses of Folletts latestare just fine.
In a departure from his usual taut, economical procedurals ("Whiteout," 2004, etc.), Follett revisits the Middle Ages in what amounts to a sort of sequel to "The Pillars of the Earth" (1989). The story is leisurely but never slow, turning in the shadow of the great provincial cathedral in the backwater of Kingsbridge, the fraught construction of which was the ostensible subject of the first novel. Now, in the 1330s, the cathedral is a going concern, populated by the same folks who figured in its making: intriguing clerics, sometimes clueless nobles and salt-of-the-earth types. One of the last is a resourceful young girland Folletts women are always resourceful, more so than the menfolkwho liberates the overflowing purse of one of those nobles. Her father has already lost a hand for thievery, but thats an insufficient deterrent in a time of hunger, and a time when the lords were frequently away: at war, in Parliament, fighting lawsuits, or just attending on their earl or king. Thus the need for watchful if greedy bailiffs and tough sheriffs, who make Gwendas grown-up life challenging. Follett has a nice eye for the sometimes silly clash of the classes and the aspirations of the small to become large, as with one aspiring prior who had only a vague idea of what he would do with such power, but he felt strongly that he belonged in some elevated position in life. Alas, woe meets some of those who strive, a fact that touches off a neat little mystery at the beginning of the book, one that plays its way out across the years and implicates dozens of characters.
A lively entertainment for fans of "The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings" and other multilayered epics. "Kirkus Reviews," Starred Review

"A well-researched, beautifully detailed portrait of the late Middle Ages."--"The Washington Post "
"Juicy historical fiction."--"USA Today "
"Follett tells a story that runs the gamut of life in the Middle Ages, and he does so in such a way that we are not only captivated but also educated. What else could you ask for?"--"The Denver Post"
"So if historical fiction is your meat, here's a rare treat. A feast of conflicts and struggles among religious authority, royal governance, the powerful unions (or guilds) of the day and the peasantry...With "World Without End," Follett proves his "Pillars "may be a rarity, but it wasn't a fluke."--"New York Post"

"A ROUSING EPIC of 14th-century England...terrifically compelling."

--Diana Gabaldon, "The Washington Post"

"JUICY HISTORICAL FICTION."--"USA Today"

"AN IMMENSE CAST OF TRULY REMARKABLE CHARACTERS...this is not a book to be devoured in one sitting, tempting though that might be, but one to savor for its drama, depth, and richness."--"Library Journal"


"A well-researched, beautifully detailed portrait of the late Middle Ages."--"The Washington Post "
"Juicy historical fiction."--"USA Today "
"Follett tells a story that runs the gamut of life in the Middle Ages, and he does so in such a way that we are not only captivated but also educated. What else could you ask for?"--"The Denver Post"
"So if historical fiction is your meat, here's a rare treat. A feast of conflicts and struggles among religious authority, royal governance, the powerful unions (or guilds) of the day and the peasantry...With "World Without End," Follett proves his "Pillars "may be a rarity, but it wasn't a fluke."--"New York Post"

A ROUSING EPIC of 14th-century England terrifically compelling.

Diana Gabaldon, "The Washington Post"

JUICY HISTORICAL FICTION. "USA Today"

AN IMMENSE CAST OF TRULY REMARKABLE CHARACTERS this is not a book to be devoured in one sitting, tempting though that might be, but one to savor for its drama, depth, and richness. "Library Journal"


A well-researched, beautifully detailed portrait of the late Middle Ages. "The Washington Post "
Juicy historical fiction. "USA Today "
Follett tells a story that runs the gamut of life in the Middle Ages, and he does so in such a way that we are not only captivated but also educated. What else could you ask for? "The Denver Post"
So if historical fiction is your meat, here s a rare treat. A feast of conflicts and struggles among religious authority, royal governance, the powerful unions (or guilds) of the day and the peasantry With "World Without End," Follett proves his "Pillars "may be a rarity, but it wasn t a fluke. "New York Post""

"An epic tale in which you will willingly lose yourself for quite a spell." The Denver Post
"Follett's no-frills prose does its job, getting smoothly through more than a thousand pages of outlaws, war, death, sex, and politics to end with an edifice that is as well constructed and solid as Merthin's bridge. A." The Washington Post
"This wonderful sequel should leave you . . . with a 'deep contentment . . . like twilight on a summer evening.'" Entertainment Weekly
"A lively entertainment for fans ofThe Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings, and other multilayered epics." Kirkus Reviews(starred review)
"Readers will be captivated." Publisher's Weekly"

Praise forWorld Without End:
[A] well-researched, beautifully detailed portrait of the late Middle Ages . . . Follett s no-frills prose does its job, getting smoothly through more than a thousand pages of outlaws, war, death, sex, and politics to end with an edifice that is as well constructed and solid as Merthin s bridge. The Washington Post
Follett tells a story that runs the gamut of life in the Middle Ages, and he does so in such a way that we are not only captivated but also educated. What else could you ask for? The Denver Post
So if historical fiction is your meat, here s a rare treat. A feast of conflicts and struggles among religious authority, royal governance, the powerful unions (or guilds) of the day, and the peasantry . . . WithWorld Without End, Follett proves hisPillarsmay be a rarity, but it wasn t a fluke. New York Post
A work that stands as something of a triumph of industry and professionalism. The Guardian(UK)
The four well-drawn central characters will captivate readers as they prove to be heroic, depraved, resourceful, or mean. Fans of Follett s previous medieval epic will be well rewarded. The Union(CA)
Populated with an immense cast of truly remarkable characters . . . this is not a book to be devoured in one sitting, tempting though that might be, but one to savor for its drama, depth, and richness. Library Journal
Readers will be captivated. Publishers Weekly"

Reseña del editor:

#1 New York Times Bestseller
In 1989, Ken Follett astonished the literary world withThe Pillars of the Earth, a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives it affected. Critics were overwhelmed it will hold you, fascinate you, surround you (Chicago Tribune) and readers everywhere hoped for a sequel.
World Without Endtakes place in the same town of Kingsbridge, two centuries after the townspeople finished building the exquisite Gothic cathedral that was at the heart ofThe Pillars of the Earth. The cathedral and the priory are again at the center of a web of love and hate, greed and pride, ambition and revenge, but this sequel stands on its own. This time the men and women of an extraordinary cast of characters find themselves at a crossroad of new ideas about medicine, commerce, architecture, and justice. In a world where proponents of the old ways fiercely battle those with progressive minds, the intrigue and tension quickly reach a boiling point against the devastating backdrop of the greatest natural disaster ever to strike the human race the Black Death.
Three years in the writing and nearly eighteen years since its predecessor, World Without Endbreathes new life into the epic historical novel and once again shows that Ken Follett is a masterful author writing at the top of his craft.

"

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Follett, Ken
Editorial: Penguin Books 2012-10-02 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0451418441 ISBN 13: 9780451418449
Nuevos Mass Market Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books 2012-10-02, 2012. Mass Market Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 0451418441 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería TM-0451418441

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,55
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Ken Follett
Editorial: Penguin Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0451418441 ISBN 13: 9780451418449
Nuevos Mass Market Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books, 2012. Mass Market Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0451418441

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Follett, Ken (Author)
Editorial: Signet (2012)
ISBN 10: 0451418441 ISBN 13: 9780451418449
Nuevos Mass Market Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Signet, 2012. Mass Market Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. reprint edition. 1056 pages. 7.00x4.25x1.50 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería 0451418441

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Follett, Ken
Editorial: Penguin Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0451418441 ISBN 13: 9780451418449
Nuevos Mass Market Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books, 2012. Mass Market Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110451418441

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 30,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,66
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío