Children's Kari Luna The Theory of Everything

ISBN 13: 9780399256264

The Theory of Everything

3,69 valoración promedio
( 588 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780399256264: The Theory of Everything

One part Libba Bray's Going Bovine, two parts String Theory, and three parts love story equals a whimsical novel that will change the way you think about the world.

Sophie Sophia is obsessed with music from the late eighties. She also has an eccentric physicist father who sometimes vanishes for days and sees things other people don’t see. But when he disappears for good and Sophie’s mom moves them from Brooklyn, New York, to Havencrest, Illinois, for a fresh start, things take a turn for the weird. Sophie starts seeing things, like marching band pandas, just like her dad.
 

Guided by Walt, her shaman panda, and her new (human) friend named Finny, Sophie is determined to find her father and figure out her visions, once and for all. So she travels back to where it began—New York City and NYU’s Physics department. As she discovers more about her dad’s research on M-theory and her father himself, Sophie opens her eyes to the world’s infinite possibilities—and her heart to love.

Perfect for fans of Going Bovine, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World and The Probability of Miracles.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Kari Luna has seen the world from behind a Hammond organ, through the lens of a commercial camera, and from the top of a Swiss Chalet. Kari's debut YA novel, THE THEORY OF EVERYTHING, was described by MTV.com as "a world we would like to drop everything and start living in right this minute." It was also named ABA's Fall 2013 New Voices Pick and won the 2014 Oregon Book Award for Young Adult Literature.Kari is currently working on other stories not featuring shaman pandas but promises they will be just as surprising. She lives in Portland, Oregon where she's also a freelance creative director, copywriter, and whimsicologist. Visit her and her sidekick, Petey Sellers, at kariluna.com or @wordette on Twitter.

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:

The Theory of Everything

Kari Luna

Philomel Books

An Imprint of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

Prologue

Once I saw a guy’s heart roll right off his sleeve. Mom and I were sitting in a booth at Sal’s sharing a sausage calzone when I saw it—a big red heart sitting on the outside of his arm instead of the middle of his chest where it belonged. When Mom left for the bathroom, I saw it move, slowly down his biceps until it got to the elbow, rolled off and landed on the floor with a thud. Right next to his bright green sneaker.

The heart stood still. The guy twirled spaghetti on a fork with one hand and gestured excitedly to his date with the other. And she just sat there, sipping soda through a straw and looking totally uninterested in whatever he was saying, which was too bad. Considering the heart and all, it was probably important.

“Cut it out,” Mom said, sliding back into the booth. She had a smear of red-orange lipstick on her teeth. “How would you like to be on a date and have some kid look you over?”

“I’m too young to date,” I said, staring at the floor where the heart had been. “And you might want to blot.”

Normally I would have been mortified by her lack of grooming skills, but I had bigger things to worry about. Things like seeing something that wasn’t there. Just like Dad.

“I know you miss New York,” Mom said, leaving her lip print on a white paper napkin. “But San Francisco is the New York of the West, remember?”

It wasn’t the New York of the West because people walked too slowly, ate burritos the size of their faces and rode trollies, but whatever. I was less interested in our most recent move and more into the fact that I was maybe, possibly turning into my father.

“When did Dad first see something?” I asked, smearing sauce around the plate with my fork. Wondering if he was twelve like I was.

“You know we don’t talk about your father,” she said, tapping her nails against the laminate. Her hands hadn’t stopped moving since Dad left. “Let’s get out of here.”

She grabbed her coat, slid out of the booth and forged ahead, heels clacking. I lagged behind her until I got to the heart guy’s table, where I froze, staring at the heart, which was now back where it belonged: next to the I and above the NY on his white tourist T-shirt.

“You’ll have to excuse my daughter,” Mom said, pulling me away with one hand and pointing at their cheesecake with the other. “She’s just mad we didn’t order dessert.”

I was mad I saw something no one else did. But more than that, I was mad Dad wasn’t there to explain it to me.

The front door chimed as she held it open.

“Come on,” Mom said. “I’d like to get home before Christmas.”

And I’d like to go back to New York, back to when Dad was around, but I doubted either of those things were going to happen.

“Sophie Sophia!” she said, waving me toward the door. Her breath froze in little clouds before her.

“Coming,” I said, tightening my black-and-white striped scarf around me. I knew I’d never tell her what happened. But I wished—secretly and desperately—that it would happen again.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel Books
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0399256261. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0399256261ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,41
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Kari Luna
Editorial: Philomel Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Jack's Bargain Books
(PITTSBURGH, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books, 2013. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. MINT COND. Nº de ref. de la librería 004948

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,56
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel Books
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0399256261. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0399256261ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel Books
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0399256261. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0399256261ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel Books
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0399256261. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0399256261ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel Books
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0399256261. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0399256261ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel Books 2013-07-11 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 13
Librería
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books 2013-07-11, 2013. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0399256261. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0399256261ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,95
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Luna, Kari
Editorial: Philomel (2013)
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ambrosia Books
(Ashland, OR, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel, 2013. Hard Cover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. First Edition. Nº de ref. de la librería 020347

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Kari Luna
Editorial: Philomel Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books, 2013. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0399256261

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Kari Luna
Editorial: Philomel Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0399256261 ISBN 13: 9780399256264
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 3
Librería
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Philomel Books, 2013. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. HARDCOVER Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Languages>Foreign Languages>Spanish>Young Adult>Fiction>Social Issues>Depression and Mental Illness. Book: NEW, New. Bookseller Inventory # 01978039925626401. Nº de ref. de la librería 01978039925626401

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,83
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda