The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

3,97 valoración promedio
( 1.301 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780393342338: The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

"Brilliant...harrowing...Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell." ―Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century’s most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World―in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa―recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator’s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

António Lobo Antunes, born in 1942 in Benfica, is considered to be Portugal's greatest living writer. The author of more than twenty novels, including What Can I Do When Everything's On Fire?, he has won many awards and makes his home in Lisbon.

Margaret Jull Costa is the award-winning translator of works by Eça de Quieros, Javier Marías, and José Saramago.

Review:

“[Antunes] has created a memorably unhinged narrator, and [Costa] manages to capture, perfectly and faithfully, the bitter, hallucinatory and increasingly desperate tone of his monologue.”
- Larry Rohter, New York Times

“Lobo Antunes crafts macabre fever dreams as if possessed by an abler Poe, and few other novelists have his Bellovian ability to see both deeply and minutely, to render the world, the fallen world, as if never rendered before.”
- William Giraldi, Daily Beast

“Read António Lobo Antunes' The Land at the End of the World, and you, like the protagonist, may never forget the hallucinatory depravity, degradation and corruption of an unjust war.”
- Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times

“Magnificent prose, dense with striking and unexpected imagery...I was so seized by the novel's spirit that I was motivated to turn to my own. I wanted to imitate Lobo Antunes, and I failed.”
- Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Lobo Antunes, António
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2017)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería 0393342336

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Antonio Lobo Antunes
Editorial: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, one of the twentieth century s most original literary voices offers kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World-in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa-recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age. Nº de ref. de la librería AAU9780393342338

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Antonio Lobo Antunes
Editorial: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, one of the twentieth century s most original literary voices offers kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World-in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa-recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age. Nº de ref. de la librería AAU9780393342338

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Lobo Antunes, Antonio
Editorial: W. W. Norton and#38; Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton and#38; Company, 2012. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IP-9780393342338

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Lobo Antunes, Antonio
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company 6/25/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback or Softback Cantidad: 10
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company 6/25/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Estado de conservación: New. The Land at the End of the World. Book. Nº de ref. de la librería BBS-9780393342338

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Antonio Lobo Lobo Antunes, Margaret Jull Costa
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Co. (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Co., 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000565971

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,23
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

António Lobo Antunes
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780393342338_ing

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,77
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Antonio Lobo Antunes
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Paperback. 224 pages. Dimensions: 8.6in. x 5.5in. x 0.7in.Brilliant . . . harrowing. . . . Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell. Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garca Mrquez, one of the twentieth centurys most original literary voices offers kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the Worldin an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costarecounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrators evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780393342338

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

António Lobo Antunes
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0393342336. Nº de ref. de la librería ST0393342336

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Lobo Antunes, António; Costa, Margaret Jull [Translator]
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393342336 ISBN 13: 9780393342338
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería INGM9780393342338

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,86
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda