Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece

3,84 valoración promedio
( 177 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780393070996: Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece
Críticas:

For those who think a century is entitled to more than one 'game-changer, ' there s a fine new book of literary criticism called Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce s Masterpiece. --David Kelly ""Paper Cuts: A Blog About Books" ""

Reseña del editor:

Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world. Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work including waking, walking, and drinking Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty. For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended."

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kiberd, Declan
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company 2009-09-28 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company 2009-09-28, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1St Edition. 0393070999 New unread publisher overstock copy. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0393070999ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,00
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0393070999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: WW Norton Co, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WW Norton Co, United States, 2009. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 241 x 165 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world. Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work-including waking, walking, and drinking-Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty. For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible-all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended. Nº de ref. de la librería FLT9780393070996

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,89
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: WW Norton Co, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WW Norton Co, United States, 2009. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 241 x 165 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world. Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work-including waking, walking, and drinking-Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty. For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible-all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended. Nº de ref. de la librería FLT9780393070996

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 31,34
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Kiberd, Declan
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 3
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110393070999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 38,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,76
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío