Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece

3,82 valoración promedio
( 188 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780393070996: Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece

Why James Joyce’s great modernist masterpiece is a book that can teach ordinary people to live better lives.

Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland’s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce’s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world.

Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work―including waking, walking, and drinking―Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses’s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce’s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty.

For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible―all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce’s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Back Cover:

“A feast. This book will reach and move many ordinary and extraordinary readers.”―Edna O’Brien

“The most exciting book I know on the most exciting novel ever written. Declan Kiberd’s brilliantly informed and highly entertaining advocacy liberates Joyce’s greatest book from the dungeon of unreadable masterpieces and restores it to being what its maker intended: a treasury of joys, a guide to enlightened living. Ulysses, finally, is a book about a friendship between a sometimes difficult young genius and a man made wise by life. No novel ever had a more understanding friend than Declan Kiberd.”―Joseph O’Connor, author of Redemption Falls and Star of the Sea

About the Author:

Declan Kiberd is a professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and the author of Inventing Ireland: The Literature of the Modern Nation, which won the Irish Times Prize, and of Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece. He lives in Dublin.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kiberd, Declan
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company 2009-09-28 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company 2009-09-28, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. First. 0393070999 New, unread, publisher overstock copy!. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0393070999ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,65
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,78
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0393070999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,35
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0393070999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: WW Norton Co, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WW Norton Co, United States, 2009. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world. Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work-including waking, walking, and drinking-Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty.For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible-all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended. Nº de ref. de la librería FLT9780393070996

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,86
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Declan Kiberd
Editorial: WW Norton Co, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WW Norton Co, United States, 2009. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world. Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work-including waking, walking, and drinking-Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty.For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible-all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended. Nº de ref. de la librería FLT9780393070996

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Declan Kiberd
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardcover. Estado de conservación: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Nº de ref. de la librería 0393070999BNA

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Kiberd, Declan
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company (2009)
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110393070999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 35,46
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,56
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Kiberd, Declan
Editorial: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393070999 ISBN 13: 9780393070996
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0393070999 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW6.1128357

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,27
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío