How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life

3,8 valoración promedio
( 2.204 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780385540391: How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Críticas:

*Esquire Best Books of 2016*
*Harper's Bazaar Editors Favorite Books of 2016*
*PopSugar Best Books of 2016*
*Nylon Best Books of 2016*

"A genuinely humorous and compelling voice...Havrilesky's writerly energy and passion confirm that the exchange of best friend wisdom -- a domain that has always been considered 'female, ' and therefore trivial -- can be elevated into art."
--Jessi Klein, New York Times Book Review

"[Havrilesky] is part Buddha and part Amy Schumer: wise, whip-smart, and profanely funny."
--Entertainment Weekly

"The best advice columnist of her generation"
--Esquire

"The title of Heather Havrilesky's How to Be a Person in the World is almost too cute.... Like: do we really need a guide to that, and is that really what this is? But it turns out the answers are yes, actually, and yes."
--Chicago Tribune

"There's something nourishing in every column... But sometimes she writes things that are like opening up the fridge and finding the universe inside."
--The Atlantic

"What I love so much about Heather Havrilesky and her new book is that, beside being her usual brilliant, hilarious, equally kick-ass and compassionate self, she actually gives great advice. How to be a Person in the World will change your life, for the way better."
--Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author of Small Victories

"A large-hearted reminder that all of us are struggling, and none of us are alone."
--Kate Bolick, author of the national bestseller Spinster

"Heather Havrilesky's advice leaves me laughing, nodding in recognition, pumping my fist with excitement, and furiously underlining passages to capture the wisdom that drops out of her mouth.... This is more than an advice book -- it's a life raft."
--Sarah Hepola, New York Times bestselling author of Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget

"True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky's wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation."
--Publishers Weekly

"Funny, frank advice for people searching for solutions to a myriad of relationship issues."
--Kirkus Review


"Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky's empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone."
--Booklist (Starred Review)

"In moments of despair, Havrilesky's elegant writing and rock-solid judgment can change your entire outlook. Read How to Be a Person in the World for the advice, but stay for the pure magic that is her perceptiveness and prose."
--Paper Magazine

"Saying that Havrilesky has a way with words is like saying Marilyn Monroe liked diamonds. Havrilesky doesn't just write--she dances with the words, building empathetic responses that can't be classified as just advice columns. They are more keen observations of human behavior."
--BookPage

"[Havrilesky is] an alluringly wry cheerleader, an enthusiastic volunteer offering sports drinks as we struggle past during the half-marathon of life."
--Slate Book Review

"She is not only an excellent writer and cultural critic, but the best possible agony aunt for people who don't care for agony aunts.... And she has an exceptional ability to hit the nail on the head and fundamentally understand people."
--The Guardian

"Heather Havrilesky... is both the first and last person you'd seek out for guidance. On one hand, she'll shake you by the shoulders and tell you the truth. On the other, she's the friend rooting you on, cursing (creatively) all the way... Havrilesky abandons the prim and proper and instead delivers delightfully offbeat wisdom with a side of straight talk."
--NPR

"Heather Havrilesky, who if there's any justice in this unforgiving universe should become the first person to win both a Nobel and Pulitzer Prize for an advice column"
--Stuff Nation (New Zealand)

Reseña del editor:

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*

For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut


Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career? 

Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect. 

How to Be a Person in the World
is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Heather Havrilesky
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Cherry_Books
(Missouri City, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Condición: New. Brand New Book. Nº de ref. del artículo: 0385540396-SRZ

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Havrilesky, Heather
Publicado por Doubleday
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday. Hardcover. Condición: New. 0385540396 Ships promptly from Texas. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0385540396ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,60
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Heather Havrilesky
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
book-net
(Sugarland, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Condición: New. New Book. Nº de ref. del artículo: 0385540396-SBX

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,60
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Havrilesky, Heather
Publicado por Doubleday (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Book Trader Cafe, LLC
(New Haven, CT, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2016. Hardcover. Condición: New. In stock and ready to ship. Gift-quality. Ships with tracking the same or next business day from New Haven, CT. We fully guarantee to ship the exact same item as listed and work hard to maintain our excellent customer service. Nº de ref. del artículo: 11201702

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Havrilesky, Heather
Publicado por Doubleday Books 2016-07-12 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday Books 2016-07-12, 2016. Hardcover. Condición: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Nº de ref. del artículo: 9780385540391B

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,86
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Heather Havrilesky
Publicado por Doubleday (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Original o primera edición Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2016. Hard Cover. Condición: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. First Edition, First Printing. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new mylar protected DJ, blue spine. Review slip laid in. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Nº de ref. del artículo: 076455

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,84
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Havrilesky, Heather
Publicado por Doubleday
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Textbookplaza
(Sugar land, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday. Hardcover. Condición: New. 0385540396 New and in great condition with no missing or damaged pages. Need it urgently? Upgrade to Expedited. In stock and we ship daily on weekdays & Saturdays. Nº de ref. del artículo: F20BGT

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,84
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,04
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Heather Havrilesky
Publicado por Doubleday (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2016. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M0385540396

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

HAVRILESKY, HEATHER
Publicado por Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Random House. Condición: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. del artículo: 0385540396

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,92
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Havrilesky, Heather
Publicado por Doubleday Books 7/12/2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385540396 ISBN 13: 9780385540391
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday Books 7/12/2016, 2016. Hardback or Cased Book. Condición: New. How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life. Book. Nº de ref. del artículo: BBS-9780385540391

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda