Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

3,55 valoración promedio
( 18.594 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780385535632: Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by Tomsky Jacob

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Reseña del editor:

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. InHeads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry wethink we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

Biografía del autor:

Jacob Tomsky is a dedicated veteran of the hospitality business. Well-spoken, uncannily quick on his feet, and no more honest than he needs to be, he has mastered every facet of the business, worked in many departments, and received multiple promotions for his service. Born in Oakland, California, to a military family, Tomsky now lives in Brooklyn, New York.

www.doubleday.com
www.jacobtomsky.com

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9780307948342: Heads in Beds : A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality (Anchor Books)

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  030794834X ISBN 13:  9780307948342
Editorial: Anchor Books, 2013
Tapa blanda

9781101973745: Heads In Beds

Random..., 2016
Tapa blanda

9781410473974: Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality (Thorndike Press Large Print Peer Picks)

Thornd..., 2014
Tapa dura

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Tomsky, Jacob
Publicado por Doubleday (2012)
ISBN 10: 0385535635 ISBN 13: 9780385535632
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Letusbegin
(Ossining, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2012. Hardcover. Condición: New. Brand New Hardcover! Pristine unmarked pages, no remainder marks, great buy straight from warehouse, sealed in plastic, exact artwork as listed, Nº de ref. del artículo: 021180502034

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Tomsky, Jacob
Publicado por Doubleday
ISBN 10: 0385535635 ISBN 13: 9780385535632
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday. Hardcover. Condición: New. 0385535635 Ships promptly from Texas. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0385535635ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Tomsky, Jacob
ISBN 10: 0385535635 ISBN 13: 9780385535632
Nuevo Hardcover Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Sharehousegoods
(Milwaukee, WI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardcover. Condición: New. This is a brand new book! Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right!. Nº de ref. del artículo: 1XGH0F000042_ns

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Jacob Tomsky
Publicado por Doubleday (2012)
ISBN 10: 0385535635 ISBN 13: 9780385535632
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2012. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M0385535635

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,09
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Tomsky, Jacob
Publicado por Doubleday
ISBN 10: 0385535635 ISBN 13: 9780385535632
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
London Bridge Books
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday. Hardcover. Condición: New. 0385535635 Dispatched from London. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0385535635ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 12,28
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Tomsky, Jacob
Publicado por Doubleday (2012)
ISBN 10: 0385535635 ISBN 13: 9780385535632
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday, 2012. Hardcover. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P110385535635

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 33,82
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío