British Authors James Wilson The Dark Clue

ISBN 13: 9780385259538

The Dark Clue

2,95 valoración promedio
( 115 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780385259538: The Dark Clue

Inspired by the Victorian sensation novel, James Wilson's first novel, The Dark Clue, is a portrait of the age in all of its staggering extremes, as inventive and multifaceted as the oil paintings of J. M. W. Turner, the elusive genius who lies at the thriller's heart. When Walter Hartright -- the sheltered, upright character from Wilkie Collins's classic mystery novel The Woman in White -- is hired to write a biography of England's great Romantic landscape artist, he discovers the "dark clue" hidden deep within Turner's brilliant paintings. Obsessed with reconstructing a life that is shrouded in mystery, Walter seeks help from a Dickensian assemblage including the visionary John Ruskin, the haughty aristocrats, the desperate, and the criminal. Soon enough, Walter uncovers evidence of unspeakable depravity, but can the truth behind Turner's myth be freed from a rapidly expanding web of conspiracy? Only Walter's capable and loving Halcombe can hope to rescue him from the harrowing downward spiral that follows. James Wilson's first book, The Earth Shall Weep, established him as a groundbreaking historian and evocative storyteller. His debut novel plumbs the myth of creative genius, offering a startling commentary on truth seeking and recording history. In the tradition of John Fowles's The French Lieutenant's Woman and Charles Palliser's The Quincunx, The Dark Clue is a masterful fiction debut from one of the original voices of our time.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

James Wilson has written plays, TV documentaries (including the award-winning Savagery and the American Indian for the BBC) and a critically-acclaimed history of Native Americans, The Earth Shall Weep. His three previous novels were The Dark Clue, The Bastard Boy and, most recently, The Woman in the Picture, described by Kate Saunders in The Times as 'a multi-layered, deeply absorbing and entertaining novel'.

From Publishers Weekly:

This debut novel by Wilson, acclaimed nonfiction author of The Earth Shall Weep: A History of Native America, is an evocative and sophisticated literary thriller set in 1850s Victorian England. Taking his cue from an archetypal Victorian suspense novel, Wilkie Collins's The Woman in White, Wilson composes an epistolary fiction in letters and diary entries, reviving Collins's classic characters Walter Hartright and his sister-in-law Marion Halcombe. Here, Hartwright and Halcombe are partners in a search to uncover the truth about elusive Romantic landscape artist J.M.W. Turner. Commissioned by the royal Lady Eastlake to write a definitive biography of the misunderstood artist, the duo meet members of the British elite, eccentric and reserved, all of whom have conflicting memories of the reclusive Turner. The upright Hartright discovers a "dark clue" in Turner's paintings, and he becomes obsessed with unraveling the myth and mystery of a man so many people have misunderstood. Art history lovers will take pleasure in the fascinating details of Turner's squalid upbringing and his early years at the Royal Academy. Wilson's exacting, detailed descriptions of Victorian England from Dickensian slums to the gilded drawing rooms of royalty make for vivid storytelling. The tale's pace is stately, but readers tuned to the frequency of 19th-century novels will appreciate Wilson's measured tone and deft treatment of Turner's murky history and Collins's exquisite legacy.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar usado Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,81
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

James Wilson
Editorial: Atlantic Monthly (2001)
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Primera edición Cantidad: 2
Librería
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Atlantic Monthly, 2001. Estado de conservación: Good. First Edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP85962354

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 0,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,81
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

James Wilson
Editorial: Atlantic Monthly
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
ThriftBooks - Sierra Nevada
(Reno, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Atlantic Monthly. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Nº de ref. de la librería G0385259530I3N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 4,76
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Wilson, James
Editorial: Doubleday Canada, Limited, Toronto, ON, Canada (2001)
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Brown's Books
(Burnaby, BC, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday Canada, Limited, Toronto, ON, Canada, 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Near Fine. Estado de la sobrecubierta: Near Fine. Canadian First. minimal wear, clean and tight. NO remainder mark, complete number line 1 - 10. Nº de ref. de la librería 159949

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 8,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Wilson, James
Editorial: Grove/Atlantic Montly Press, New York (2001)
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
fromthebookcellar
(Hanover, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Grove/Atlantic Montly Press, New York, 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Fine. Estado de la sobrecubierta: Fine. First American edition book fine and fine dust jacket with very small top fold closed nick. A sharp unread copy. Nº de ref. de la librería M023041204

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 6,96
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

James Wilson
Editorial: Atlantic Monthly (2001)
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Atlantic Monthly, 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Used: Good. First Edition. Nº de ref. de la librería SONG0385259530

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 10,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,22
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Wilson, James
Editorial: Doubleday Canada, Toronto (2001)
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Scene of the Crime
(St. Catharines, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday Canada, Toronto, 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Fine. Estado de la sobrecubierta: Fine. 1st Edition. First edition first printing this sort of sequel to Wilkie Collins The Woman in White. In near fine / near fine condition. Language: eng. Nº de ref. de la librería 7438

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 17,40
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Wilson, James
Editorial: Doubleday Canada, Toronto (2001)
ISBN 10: 0385259530 ISBN 13: 9780385259538
Usado Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cabin Fever Books Ltd.
(Calgary, AB, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Doubleday Canada, Toronto, 2001. Hard Cover. Estado de conservación: Fine. Estado de la sobrecubierta: Fine. First Canadian Edition / First Printing. 390 pp. Black endpapers. Black boards with gilt lettering on spine. Colour illustrated dust jacket is wrapped in a Brodart archival jacket cover. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Nº de ref. de la librería 004670

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 12,18
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 8,45
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío