Annie John

3,63 valoración promedio
( 4.776 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780374525101: Annie John

Book by Kincaid Jamaica

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Reseña del editor:

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

Críticas:

"So touching and familiar it could be happening to any of us . . . and that's exactly the book's strength, its wisdom, its truth."--"The New York Times Book Review"
"So neon-bright that the traditional story of a young girl's passage into adolescence takes on a shimmering strangeness."--Elaine Kendall, "The Los Angeles Times "

So touching and familiar it could be happening to any of us . . . and that's exactly the book's strength, its wisdom, its truth. "The New York Times Book Review"

So neon-bright that the traditional story of a young girl's passage into adolescence takes on a shimmering strangeness. "Elaine Kendall, The Los Angeles Times""

"So touching and familiar it could be happening to any of us . . . and that's exactly the book's strength, its wisdom, its truth." --The New York Times Book Review

"So neon-bright that the traditional story of a young girl's passage into adolescence takes on a shimmering strangeness." --Elaine Kendall, The Los Angeles Times

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0374525102 Ships promptly from Texas. Nº de ref. de la librería HCI5974KBGG042817H0142A

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Jamaica Kincaid
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97803745251010000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Jamaica Kincaid
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, United States, 1997. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 206 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie s voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, It was in such a paradise that I lived. When she turns twelve, however, Annie s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a young lady, ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. For I could not be sure, she reflects, whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780374525101

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Jamaica Kincaid
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, United States, 1997. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 206 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie s voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, It was in such a paradise that I lived. When she turns twelve, however, Annie s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a young lady, ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. For I could not be sure, she reflects, whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780374525101

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,35
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Jamaica Kincaid
Editorial: MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MacMillan Publishers. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0374525102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,13
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Kincaid, Jamaica
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 1997. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VV-9780374525101

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1997. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0374525102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,67
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Kincaid, Jamaica
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 1997. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780374525101

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Kincaid, Jamaica
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 829916

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,96
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0374525102 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería NATARAJB1FI832595

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda