1980S Jamaica Kincaid Annie John

ISBN 13: 9780374105211

Annie John

3,64 valoración promedio
( 4.866 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780374105211: Annie John

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

Jamaica Kincaid beautifully delineates hatred and fear, because she knows they are often a step away from love and obsession. At the start of Annie John, her 10-year-old heroine is engulfed in family happiness and safety. Though Annie loves her father, she is all eyes for her mother. When she is almost 12, however, the idyll ends and she falls into deep disfavor. This inexplicable loss mars both lives, as each grows adept at public falsity and silent betrayal. The pattern is set, and extended: "And now I started a new series of betrayals of people and things I would have sworn only minutes before to die for." In front of Annie's father and the world, "We were politeness and kindness and love and laughter." Alone they are linked in loathing. Annie tries to imagine herself as someone in a book--an orphan or a girl with a wicked stepmother. The trouble is, she finds, those characters' lives always end happily. Luckily for us, though not perhaps for her alter ego, Kincaid is too truthful a writer to provide such a finale.

About the Author:

John McPhee is the author of twenty-five books (all published by FSG). He won the Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction in 1998 for this work. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 6
Librería
BEST_TEXTBOOKS_DEALS
(Los Angeles, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. THE BOOK IS IN NEW CONDITION. MAY HAVE MINOR SHELF WEAR.MULTIPLE COPIES AVAILABLE. FAST SHIPPING. WE OFFER FREE TRACKING NUMBER UPON FAST SHIPMENT OF YOUR ORDER. PLEASE LET US KNOW IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS AND WE WILL GET BACK TO YOU ASAP. Thank you for your interest. Nº de ref. de la librería 0374105219-N

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Jamaica Kincaid
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
eQuip Online
(ALIQUIPPA, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Shipped within 24 hrs of purchase. Satisfaction guaranteed! Although this is a new book, this item has seen minor wear from being in storage. Nº de ref. de la librería 29HBGM000BKY

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Jamaica Kincaid
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0374105219

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Jamaica Kincaid
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardcover. Estado de conservación: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Nº de ref. de la librería 0374105219BNA

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Kincaid,Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar,Straus & Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Enterprise Books
(Chicago, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar,Straus & Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. First Edition; First Printing. Book and DJ New. No notes, names or ANY markings. New DJ not price clipped ($11.95). ; 1st printing. Mint. Never opened. ; 195 pages. Nº de ref. de la librería 9876

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,78
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,43
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Jamaica Kincaid
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0374105219

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,55
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Jamaica Kincaid
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 97803741052111.0

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,13
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110374105219

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 33,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,56
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Editorial: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0374105219 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW6.0169981

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 61,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,28
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío