Shirley Barrett Rush oh!

ISBN 13: 9780349006659

Rush oh!

3,62 valoración promedio
( 1.128 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780349006659: Rush oh!
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Críticas:

Beautiful and brutal, witty and kind, Rush Oh! is a story of great surprises and a beating heart - a book never to forget (Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief)

Hugely funny and peopled with a cast of characters I came to love like my own friends, Rush Oh! reminded me why I love reading (Hannah Kent, author of Burial Rites)

Cinematic. The tale of a whaling family, its scope is ambitious and its heart big. You'll fall in love (Marie Claire (Australia))

A memorable, often heart-in-mouth debut that's brought to life by Mary's humour, her self-awareness and her accompanying illustrations (Daily Mail)

A rollicking seaborne ride . . . humorous, imaginative and tender, you'll want to race through Rush Oh! to find out what happens (Independent)

Fresh, funny and lively (Express)

This beautifully written Australian novel narrated by whaler's daughter Mary Davidson is funny, quirky and features a cast of characters that includes a pod of Killers. A charming debut (Diva)

A novel that is thick with briny flavour. Best of all are the descriptions of the whale hunts, which are steeped in a luxurious, bracing horror (Metro)

Rush Oh!'s strengths are manifold. It's a nostalgic, quirky book - peppered with stunning illustrations and seamless inclusion of actual newspaper excerpts from the time - that really captures an intriguing moment in Australia's past. Expertly balancing light and dark, Barrett confronts the moral complexities of whaling while simultaneously sketching a range of hilarious character portraits, and maintaining an endearing, and often challenging, narrative voice. This novel is a fairytale for adults, which I found poignant, funny and original (Canberra Weekly)

While depicting the danger, adrenaline and excitement of the boat chases, [Rush Oh!] also repeatedly celebrates the beauty of these magnificent creatures, mourning the cruelty involved in hunting and killing them (West Australian)

Reseña del editor:

'Hugely funny and peopled with a cast of characters I came to love like my own friends, Rush Oh! reminded me why I love reading' Hannah Kent, bestselling author of Burial Rites

Mary Davidson, the eldest daughter of a whaling family in New South Wales,chronicles the particularly difficult season of 1908 - a story that is poignant and hilarious, filled with drama and misadventure.

Mary Davidson has got used to looking after her five siblings whilst catering for her father's boisterous whaling crew. But when John Beck, an itinerant whaleman with a murky past, arrives on the doorstep wanting to join her father, Mary promptly develops an all-consuming crush which upends her world...

Swinging from Mary's hopes and disappointments, both domestic and romantic, to the challenges that beset their tiny whaling operation, Rush Oh! is an enchanting celebration of both Mary's unique voice and an extraordinary episode in Australian history when a family of whalers formed a fond, unique allegiance with a pod of frisky killer whales - led by one named Tom.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Shirley Barrett
Publicado por Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Condición: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hugely funny and peopled with a cast of characters I came to love like my own friends, Rush Oh! reminded me why I love reading Hannah Kent, bestselling author of Burial RitesMary Davidson, the eldest daughter of a whaling family in New South Wales,chronicles the particularly difficult season of 1908 - a story that is poignant and hilarious, filled with drama and misadventure. Mary Davidson has got used to looking after her five siblings whilst catering for her father s boisterous whaling crew. But when John Beck, an itinerant whaleman with a murky past, arrives on the doorstep wanting to join her father, Mary promptly develops an all-consuming crush which upends her world.Swinging from Mary s hopes and disappointments, both domestic and romantic, to the challenges that beset their tiny whaling operation, Rush Oh! is an enchanting celebration of both Mary s unique voice and an extraordinary episode in Australian history when a family of whalers formed a fond, unique allegiance with a pod of frisky killer whales - led by one named Tom. Nº de ref. del artículo: AWC9780349006659

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,93
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Shirley Barrett
Publicado por Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 10
Librería
Book Depository International
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Condición: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hugely funny and peopled with a cast of characters I came to love like my own friends, Rush Oh! reminded me why I love reading Hannah Kent, bestselling author of Burial RitesMary Davidson, the eldest daughter of a whaling family in New South Wales,chronicles the particularly difficult season of 1908 - a story that is poignant and hilarious, filled with drama and misadventure. Mary Davidson has got used to looking after her five siblings whilst catering for her father s boisterous whaling crew. But when John Beck, an itinerant whaleman with a murky past, arrives on the doorstep wanting to join her father, Mary promptly develops an all-consuming crush which upends her world.Swinging from Mary s hopes and disappointments, both domestic and romantic, to the challenges that beset their tiny whaling operation, Rush Oh! is an enchanting celebration of both Mary s unique voice and an extraordinary episode in Australian history when a family of whalers formed a fond, unique allegiance with a pod of frisky killer whales - led by one named Tom. Nº de ref. del artículo: AWC9780349006659

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Shirley Barrett
Publicado por Fleet
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fleet. Paperback. Condición: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Nº de ref. del artículo: B9780349006659

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 1,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,92
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Barrett, Shirley
Publicado por Fleet (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fleet, 2017. Paperback. Condición: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. del artículo: mon0002368947

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,74
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,27
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Barrett, Shirley
Publicado por Fleet (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Tapa blanda Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fleet, 2017. Condición: New. Rush Oh! is a deeply moving and captivating novel that will capture readers' imaginations - for fans of I Capture the Castle and The Observations by Jane Harris Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 127 x 26. Weight in Grams: 290. . 2017. Paperback. . . . . . Nº de ref. del artículo: V9780349006659

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Shirley Barrett
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Condición: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. del artículo: 97803490066590000000

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Barrett, Shirley
Publicado por Fleet
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Tapa blanda Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fleet. Condición: New. Rush Oh! is a deeply moving and captivating novel that will capture readers' imaginations - for fans of I Capture the Castle and The Observations by Jane Harris Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 127 x 26. Weight in Grams: 290. . 2017. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. del artículo: V9780349006659

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Shirley Barrett
Publicado por Little, Brown 2017-02-02, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo paperback Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown 2017-02-02, London, 2017. paperback. Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: 9780349006659

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,86
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,85
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Shirley Barrett
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 3
Librería
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Condición: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0349006652. Nº de ref. del artículo: ST0349006652

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Shirley Barrett
Publicado por Fleet (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349006652 ISBN 13: 9780349006659
Nuevo Tapa blanda Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fleet, 2017. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: ria9780349006659_rkm

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,42
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda