Fiction Elizabeth Moon The Speed of Dark

ISBN 13: 9780345447555

The Speed of Dark

4,01 valoración promedio
( 8.187 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780345447555: The Speed of Dark

In the near future, disease will be a condition of the past. Most genetic defects will be removed at birth; the remaining during infancy. Unfortunately, there will be a generation left behind. For members of that missed generation, small advances will be made. Through various programs, they will be taught to get along in the world despite their differences. They will be made active and contributing members of society. But they will never be normal.

Lou Arrendale is a member of that lost generation, born at the wrong time to reap the awards of medical science. Part of a small group of high-functioning autistic adults, he has a steady job with a pharmaceutical company, a car, friends, and a passion for fencing. Aside from his annual visits to his counselor, he lives a low-key, independent life. He has learned to shake hands and make eye contact. He has taught himself to use “please” and “thank you” and other conventions of conversation because he knows it makes others comfortable. He does his best to be as normal as possible and not to draw attention to himself.

But then his quiet life comes under attack. It starts with an experimental treatment that will reverse the effects of autism in adults. With this treatment Lou would think and act and be just like everyone else. But if he was suddenly free of autism, would he still be himself? Would he still love the same classical music–with its complications and resolutions? Would he still see the same colors and patterns in the world–shades and hues that others cannot see? Most importantly, would he still love Marjory, a woman who may never be able to reciprocate his feelings? Would it be easier for her to return the love of a “normal”?

There are intense pressures coming from the world around him–including an angry supervisor who wants to cut costs by sacrificing the supports necessary to employ autistic workers. Perhaps even more disturbing are the barrage of questions within himself. For Lou must decide if he should submit to a surgery that might completely change the way he views the world . . . and the very essence of who he is.

Thoughtful, provocative, poignant, unforgettable, The Speed of Dark is a gripping exploration into the mind of an autistic person as he struggles with profound questions of humanity and matters of the heart.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

Corporate life in early 21st-century America is even more ruthless than it was at the turn of the millennium. Lou Arrendale, well compensated for his remarkable pattern-recognition skills, enjoys his job and expects never to lose it. But he has a new boss, a man who thinks Lou and the others in his building are a liability. Lou and his coworkers are autistic. And the new boss is going to fire Lou and all his coworkers--unless they agree to undergo an experimental new procedure to "cure" them.

In The Speed of Dark, Elizabeth Moon has created a powerful, complex, and believable portrayal of a man who varies radically from what is defined as "normal." The author insightfully explores the nature of "normality," identity, choice, responsibility, free will, illness and health, and good and evil. The Speed of Dark is a powerful, moving, illuminating novel in the tradition of Flowers for Algernon, Forrest Gump, and Rain Man . --Cynthia Ward

From the Back Cover:

The Speed of Dark gives a stunning, insightful and openhearted look at the world through the eyes of a man with autism. After reading this book, you will think deeply on the question: What does ‘normal’ mean? Elizabeth Moon has written an outstanding testament to the unique gift every one of us has to share, exactly as we are, while also cheering us on to be all that we can be. Kudos to Ms. Moon for helping us to see with new clarity not only the mystery of autism, but also the wonder of it.”
–BARRY NEIL KAUFMAN
Author of Son-Rise and Happiness Is A Choice
Director of The Option Institute and
the Autism Treatment Center of America™

“[A] fine novel . . . I marvel at Elizabeth Moon’s achievement. With no shadow of sentimentality or easy romanticism, she shows us the core of autism . . . making us experience the anxiety and tension continually accompanying its autistic hero as he struggles to make sense of the world we so readily call normal.”
–CLARA PARK
Author of Exiting Nirvana: A Daughter’s Life with Autism

“Absolutely compelling . . . A fine novel! Elizabeth Moon takes us to a part of the human neighborhood that is at once enchanting and heartbreaking.”
–GREG BEAR
Author of Darwin’s Radio

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Moon, Elizabeth
Editorial: Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Ballantine Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0345447557 Ships promptly. Nº de ref. de la librería HGT1548KBGG031717H0143A

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Ballantine Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Ballantine Books, 2003. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0345447557

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 29,56
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Ballantine Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Ballantine Books, 2003. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0345447557

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 31,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Moon, Elizabeth
Editorial: Ballantine Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Ballantine Books, 2003. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110345447557

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 37,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,59
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Moon, Elizabeth
Editorial: Ballantine Books 2003-01-01 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Ballantine Books 2003-01-01, 2003. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1. 0345447557 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería TM-0345447557

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 38,15
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Elizabeth Moon
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New. Nº de ref. de la librería A4121

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 35,74
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,06
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Elizabeth Moon
ISBN 10: 0345447557 ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 97803454475551.0

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,00
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío