The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

3,6 valoración promedio
( 57 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780340951163: The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

The third book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA, perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

612 AD.
Aelric of England has become the Lord Senator Alaric and the trusted Legate of the Emperor Heraclius. He's now in Alexandria, to send Egypt's harvest to Constantinople, and to force the unwilling Viceroy to give land to the peasants. But the city, with its factions and conspirators - thwarts him at every turn. And when an old enemy from Constantinople arrives, supposedly on a quest for a religious relic that could turn the course of the Persian war, the ensuing chaos may be enough to rip Egypt - and Aelric - apart.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

www.richardblake.me.uk

Review:

As always, Blake writes with immense historical and classical erudition, while displaying an ability to render 1500-year-old conversations in realistically colloquial English.

C4SS on The Blood of Alexandria

[Blake] knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed

Mail on Sunday on The Terror of Constantinople

[Blake's] plotting can seem off-puttingly anarchic until the penny drops that everyone is simultaneously embroiled in multiple, often conflicting, scams. Aelric's survival among the last knockings of empire in Constantinople depends not on deducing who wants him dead, but who wants him dead at any given moment.―Daily Telegrph on The Terror of Constantinople

It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy.

Morning Star on The Sword of Damascus

I can't resist recommending this first volume of a promised trilogy. Set during the last pangs of Imperial Rome, with a vivid account of the machinations of the early Church, it is well-informed, atmospheric and beautifully written.―Literary Review on Conspiracies of Rome

Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much.

Derek Jacobi on Conspiracies of Rome

Blake's plotting is as brilliantly devious as the mind of his sardonic and very earthy hero. This is a story of villainy that reels you in from its prosaic opening through a series of death-defying thrills and spills.―Lancashire Evening Post on The Ghosts of Athens

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,72
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Richard Blake
Editorial: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN 10: 0340951168 ISBN 13: 9780340951163
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hodder & Stoughton. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Brand New. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería __0340951168

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 49,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,72
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío