Ken Follett World Without End

ISBN 13: 9780333908426

World Without End

4,24 valoración promedio
( 152.724 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780333908426: World Without End
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Críticas:

The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Othersthe good-hearted varlets, churls and nickpurses of Folletts latestare just fine. In a departure from his usual taut, economical procedurals ("Whiteout," 2004, etc.), Follett revisits the Middle Ages in what amounts to a sort of sequel to "The Pillars of the Earth" (1989). The story is leisurely but never slow, turning in the shadow of the great provincial cathedral in the backwater of Kingsbridge, the fraught construction of which was the ostensible subject of the first novel. Now, in the 1330s, the cathedral is a going concern, populated by the same folks who figured in its making: intriguing clerics, sometimes clueless nobles and salt-of-the-earth types. One of the last is a resourceful young girland Folletts women are always resourceful, more so than the menfolkwho liberates the overflowing purse of one of those nobles. Her father has already lost a hand for thievery, but thats an insufficient deterrent in a time of hunger, and a time when the lords were frequently away: at war, in Parliament, fighting lawsuits, or just attending on their earl or king. Thus the need for watchful if greedy bailiffs and tough sheriffs, who make Gwendas grown-up life challenging. Follett has a nice eye for the sometimes silly clash of the classes and the aspirations of the small to become large, as with one aspiring prior who had only a vague idea of what he would do with such power, but he felt strongly that he belonged in some elevated position in life. Alas, woe meets some of those who strive, a fact that touches off a neat little mystery at the beginning of the book, one that plays its way out across the years and implicates dozens of characters. A lively entertainment for fans of "The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings" and other multilayered epics. "Kirkus Reviews," Starred Review

Reseña del editor:

On the day after Halloween, in the year 1327, four children slip away from the cathedral city of Kingsbridge. They are a thief, a bully, a boy genius and a girl who wants to be a doctor. In the forest they see two men killed.

As adults, their lives will be braided together by ambition, love, greed and revenge. They will see prosperity and famine, plague and war. One boy will travel the world but come home in the end; the other will be a powerful, corrupt nobleman. One girl will defy the might of the medieval church; the other will pursue an impossible love. And always they will live under the long shadow of the unexplained killing they witnessed on that fateful childhood day.

Ken Follett’s masterful epic The Pillars of the Earth enchanted millions of readers with its compelling drama of war, passion and family conflict set around the building of a cathedral. Now World Without End takes readers back to medieval Kingsbridge two centuries later, as the men, women and children of the city once again grapple with the devastating sweep of historical change.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Follett, Ken
Publicado por Macmillan (2007)
ISBN 10: 0333908422 ISBN 13: 9780333908426
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Macmillan, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P110333908422

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,93
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,62
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Follett, Ken
Publicado por Penguin (2007)
ISBN 10: 0333908422 ISBN 13: 9780333908426
Nuevo Tapa dura Original o primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin, 2007. hardcover. Condición: New. Author Signed Hardcover Book. 2007 NY: Penguin First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover. signed by author. Nº de ref. del artículo: FOLWORL01

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 61,44
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Follett Ken
Publicado por Macmillan (2007)
ISBN 10: 0333908422 ISBN 13: 9780333908426
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Macmillan, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: Brand New. 1120 pages. In Stock. Nº de ref. del artículo: zk0333908422

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 97,49
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,75
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Ken Follett
Publicado por Dutton / Penguin (2007)
ISBN 10: 0333908422 ISBN 13: 9780333908426
Nuevo Tapa dura Original o primera edición Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Dutton / Penguin, 2007. Hardcover. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M0333908422

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 142,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío