Mafia Son: The Scarpa Mob Family, the FBI, and a Story of Betrayal

3,27 valoración promedio
( 181 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780312370244: Mafia Son: The Scarpa Mob Family, the FBI, and a Story of Betrayal
Review:

"A disturbing, jagged true-crime thriller worthy of prime Hammett, Chandler or Puzo." --"Publishers Weekly" (starred review)"It's hard enough to write without risking your life. Sandra Harmon did both in her tense, penetrating psychological portrait of the wiseguy who went right and paid the price. A true thriller in the tradition of "Donnie"" Brasco" and "Goodfellas"." --Robert Graysmith, author of "Zodiac" and "Auto Focus""An absorbing and intriguing look at a Mafia family whose violence and treachery knew no limits." --Vincent Bugliosi, author of "The Prosecution of George W. Bush for Murder""Harmon writes well and swiftly about one of this century's most feared, duplicitous Mafiosos--Greg Scarpa, a war captain in the Colombo crime family, a man who had his eye shot out in a gun battle, a man who was so fond of shooting people that he regularly said, 'I love the smell of gunpowder, ' a man who played both sides of the fence--dedicated Mafioso, and informer for the FBI. Hell of a read." --Phil Carlo, author of "The Ice Man""A vivid and accurate account of one of the most notorious and ruthless families in the history of organized crime. Sandra Harmon has captured...the very essence of the Scarpa family in all its savage, corrupt, and murderous glory. A great read!" --Michael Vecchione, chief of the Rackets Division, Kings County District Attorney's Office "The implications drawn in this book about the FBI's fitness as a law enforcement agency--as well as its capabilities in protecting our nation from terrorism--are staggering.... A can't-put-it-down read." --Michael Levine, former DEA agent, trial consultant, and author of "Deep Cover"

From the Publisher:

The Scarpas were a Mafia dynasty led by Greg Scarpa, Sr., a man so addicted to killing that he was nicknamed 'The Grim Reaper'. His son, Gregory, Jr., worshipped him and was slowly drawn into his dark world. What no one but father and son knew was that for thirty years, starting in the 1960s, Scarpa, Sr. was an informant, working intimately with FBI handlers. For decades, his connection to the FBI protected him and gave him a virtual license to kill. But faced with arrest in the late 1980s, Greg dropped the dime on his own son. Gregory, Jr., was imprisoned alongside terrorist Ramzi Yousef. He offered to trade information on Yousef with the government in exchange for leniency, providing detailed intelligence on what would eventually result in the September 11th attacks - and more. His warnings were ignored, and he was sentenced to forty years to life in prison, where he remains. A story that gained national notoriety as a result of former FBI agent Lin DeVecchio's sensational murder trial of 2007, at which Sandra Harmon testified, this is an unforgettable tale of violence, wealth, and sex, set in a world where a man's word can be everything or nothing at all.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Harmon, Sandra
Editorial: St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 0312370245 ISBN 13: 9780312370244
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 6
Librería
zeebooks
(Foley, AL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0312370245 Brand new hard cover may show light shelf wear from warehouse storage and handling. Nº de ref. de la librería SKU1009617

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,66
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Harmon, Sandra
ISBN 10: 0312370245 ISBN 13: 9780312370244
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 97803123702441.0

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,75
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Harmon, Sandra
Editorial: St. Martin's Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312370245 ISBN 13: 9780312370244
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción St. Martin's Press, 2009. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "A disturbing, jagged true-crime thriller worthy of prime Hammett, Chandler or Puzo." Publishers Weekly (starred review) "It's hard enough to write without risking your life. Sandra Harmon did both in her tense, penetrating psychological portrait of the wiseguy who went right and paid the price. A true thriller in the tradition of Donnie Brasco and Goodfellas ." Robert Graysmith, author of Zodiac and Auto Focus "An absorbing and intriguing look at a Mafia family whose violence and treachery knew no limits." Vincent Bugliosi, author of The Prosecution of George W. Bush for Murder "Harmon writes well and swiftly about one of this century's most feared, duplicitous MafiososGreg Scarpa, a war captain in the Colombo crime family, a man who had his eye shot out in a gun battle, a man who was so fond of shooting people that he regularly said, 'I love the smell of gunpowder,' a man who played both sides of the fencededicated Mafioso, and informer for the FBI. Hell of a read." Phil Carlo, author of The Ice Man "A vivid and accurate account of one of the most notorious and ruthless families in the history of organized crime. Sandra Harmon has captured.the very essence of the Scarpa family in all its savage, corrupt, and murderous glory. A great read!" Michael Vecchione, chief of the Rackets Division, Kings County District Attorney's Office "The implications drawn in this book about the FBI's fitness as a law enforcement agencyas well as its capabilities in protecting our nation from terrorismare staggering. A can't-put-it-down read." Michael Levine, former DEA agent, trial consultant, and author of Deep Cover. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE_book_new_0312370245

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,86
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Harmon, Sandra
Editorial: St. Martin's Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312370245 ISBN 13: 9780312370244
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
City Bargains
(Murfreesboro, TN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción St. Martin's Press, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. New Condition - We Ship Quickly Thank you for your business. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000000379

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,09
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,75
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Harmon, Sandra
Editorial: St. Martin's Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312370245 ISBN 13: 9780312370244
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción St. Martin's Press, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0312370245

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,82
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Harmon, Sandra
Editorial: St. Martin's Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312370245 ISBN 13: 9780312370244
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 3
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción St. Martin's Press, 2009. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110312370245

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 45,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,81
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío