A Scientific Romance

3,62 valoración promedio
( 455 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780312181727: A Scientific Romance

It is 1999, and David Lambert, jilted lover and reluctant museum curator, is about to discover the startling news of the return of H. G. Well's time machine to London. Motivated by a host of unanswered questions and innate curiosity, he propels himself deep into the next millennium: an England ruined by mysterious civil war, now returned to wilderness. As he sets foot in a luxuriant but menacing new landscape, he also explores the ruins of his life, a labyrinth of erotic obsession and remorse involving his old friend Bird - jazz musician, classicist, and small-time crook - and Anita, the beautiful, eccentric Egyptologist they both loved, mysteriously dead at 32. For readers of H. G. Wells, J. G. Ballard, and Aldous Huxley, this novel is an odyssey through human error, an evocation of beloved books and authors, and an unforgettable vision of the end - and renewal - of civilization.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

In London at the turn of the 20th century, H. G. Wells's time machine mysteriously appears--empty--in a squatter's flat. Whence did it come, and for what purpose was it sent? The answers to these questions--though not to an even greater mystery connected with the machine's appearance--are contained in a letter written by Wells on May 2, 1946, which falls into the hands of one David Lambert on the eve of the millennium. Lambert, an industrial archeologist, reads the letter foretelling the arrival of the machine and, half convinced the whole thing is a hoax, goes to the address Wells provides, where, at the appointed hour, the time machine materializes. Thus begins Ronald Wright's fine and fantastical novel A Scientific Romance.

Romance can refer to an affair of the heart; it can also describe a heroic tale of extraordinary events. In A Scientific Romance, Wright plays on both possible meanings as he weaves a tragic story of betrayal and lost love into a larger narrative of time travel. Lambert, having lost the woman he loved, is reckless enough to test Wells's machine himself, catapulting 500 years into the future, where he finds London--indeed, all of England--a deserted, semitropical landscape. As David explores the future, he also sifts through his own past, creating in this Möbius strip of time and relationship a chilling cautionary tale about the limits of science and human ambition.

From the Publisher:

A SCIENTIFIC ROMANCE has won Britain's prestigious David Higham Award for Fiction.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Ronald Wright
Editorial: Picador USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Picador USA, 1998. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1st Picador USA ed. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0312181728

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Ronald Wright
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 97803121817271.0

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Wright, Ronald
Editorial: Picador USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Picador USA, 1998. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110312181728

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 43,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Wright, Ronald
Editorial: Picador USA
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Picador USA. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0312181728 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW6.1090735

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 61,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,24
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío