The Last Witchfinder: na

3,54 valoración promedio
( 1.292 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780297852582: The Last Witchfinder: na
Críticas:

an absolute delight...Seldom does one come across a story that works on so many levels. Not only does it satisfy by being a highly entertaining yarn detailing the picaresque, pillar-to-post adventures of its admirable and highly likeable protagonist, Jennet Stearne, it stands too as a sharply observed post-modernist satire that focuses upon the age-old tensions that both bind and divide us - religion and science... a hugely affable work, and a great pleasure to read. (John Berlyne SFREVU)

the sheer exuberance of the plot and the determination of the protagonist to reach her goal carries the reader along. A thoroughly entertaining novel. ( WATERSTONE'S BOOKS QUARTERLY)

..the genius of this book...is that is perfectly captures the prismatic situations of science and theology in the 18th century...Part of the delight of this novel is the richness of the language, the carefully balanced coyness and coquetry of 18th century literarture, and the way in which the Principia Mathematica writes all the world in Newtonian geometry. (Farah Mendlesohn STRANGE HORIZONS)

The Last Witchfinder is cleverly written, with the detail of history providing a rich tapestry into which the fiction is woven, bringing events and chartacters both real and imagined to vivid life...Morrow has written a timely intervention into the dangersof Fundamentalism for the zeitgeist. (Brigid Cherry DREAMWATCH (May 2006))

An intense and dramatic novel set in one of the darkest periods of our country's history. ( GOOD BOOK GUIDE)

James Morrow writes in order to tell us things: to admonish us about our coming destruction of the world, or about the battle between reason and superstition...what he is, deep down, is a satirist and moralist...What makes this satirical version of the struggle against fundamentalism so powerful is Morrow's scenes of natural beauty or urban squalor. These have the scent of real wild flowers, the squish of real mud and dung underfoot. (Roz Kaveney INDEPENDENT (11.5.06))

Romp is too small a word for this novel, although the fin and excitement James Morrow delivers inevitably brings it to mind. (Alastair Mabbott THE HERALD (13.5.06))

a dazzling novel about the clash between superstition and science...This is an extravagant, expansive, erudite, energetic feast of information and adventure...I felt bound to read on as if tied to a stake myself. (Jessica Mann SUNDAY TELEGRAPH (14.5.06))

[a] tremendous historical novel...In a book that will appeal to fans of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, James Morrow captures the imagination and excitement of a world long gone. ( NEWMARKET JOURNAL and SUFFOLK FREE PRESS)

Inventive, original and downright entertaining with some fantastic fantasy twists, The Last Witchfinder is a book that really does take genre writing in a completely new and highly entertaining direction. (James Whittington THE DARK SIDE)

The Last Witchfinder is a magnificent combination of high entertainment and intellectually demanding story telling. The life and travails of Jennet prove to be compelling; the tale fair gallops along and is packed with incident as well as engaging and intriguing characters. It is a tremendously satisfying read which offers much to be considered long after the book is finished. (Dave M Roberts VECTOR MAGAZINE)

Reseña del editor:

Jennet is the daughter of the Witchfinder of Mercia and East Anglia. Whilst her father roams the countryside with her brother Dunstan in search of heretics, Jennet is left behind to be schooled by her aunt Isobel in the New Philosophy principally expounded by Isaac Newton. But her aunt's style of scientific enquiry soon attracts the attention of the witchfinders. To save her aunt, Jennet travels to Cambridge to seek the help of Newton himself. On the way she meets Dr Barnaby Cavendish and his 'Museum of Wondrous Prodigies' including the Bird-Child of Bath, The Lyme Bay Fish Boy and the Sussex Rat Baby. What they haven't bargained on is being hoodwinked by Newton's great rival Robert Hooke. Isobel is burned at the stake but in her dying moments, begs Jennet to devote her life to overturning the Parliamentary Witchcraft Act. This is a huge rollercoaster of a novel as Jennet travels to America and witnesses the Salem witch trials; is abducted by Indians; begins an affair with Benjamin Franklin; travels back to England and finally meets the real Newton; is shipwrecked; then ends up back in America where her brother is now the Witchfinder Royal. In a great final showdown between old superstition and new science, Jennet decides to have herself accused of witchcraft in order to disprove its existence.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,10
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Morrow, James
Editorial: W&N (2006)
ISBN 10: 0297852582 ISBN 13: 9780297852582
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción W&N, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0001823224

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,56
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,10
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Morrow, James
Editorial: Weidenfeld and Nicholson (2006)
ISBN 10: 0297852582 ISBN 13: 9780297852582
Nuevos paperback / softback Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Allyouneedisbooks Ltd
(Westbury, WILTS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Weidenfeld and Nicholson, 2006. paperback / softback. Estado de conservación: new. large 1st edition 1st printing paperback, new In stock shipped from our UK warehouse. Nº de ref. de la librería 17131

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,89
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 11,48
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

MORROW, JAMES
Editorial: WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON
ISBN 10: 0297852582 ISBN 13: 9780297852582
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0297852582. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0297852582ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

MORROW, JAMES
Editorial: WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON 2006-01-01 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0297852582 ISBN 13: 9780297852582
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON 2006-01-01, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. First Edition, First. 0297852582. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0297852582ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,15
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

JAMES MORROW
Editorial: WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON (2006)
ISBN 10: 0297852582 ISBN 13: 9780297852582
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0297852582

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,56
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

James Morrow
Editorial: Weidenfeld & Nicolson (2006)
ISBN 10: 0297852582 ISBN 13: 9780297852582
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad: 1
Librería
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. 1st Edition... London: W & N (2006). First British edition. First printing. Hardbound. New/New. A pristine unread copy (without marks or bruises or smells or any other defect). Comes with archival-quality mylar dust jacket cover (not clipped, of course). Shipped in well-padded box. Purchased new and opened only for author to sign, no inscriptions, just the author's name directly on the title page. SIGNED AND DATED BY AUTHOR on title page in month of publication (April 2006). Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. de la librería 10-2015-1ZB

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 71,49
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,66
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío