Hollywood’s Exploited: Public Pedagogy, Corporate Movies, and Cultural Crisis (Education, Politics and Public Life)

5 valoración promedio
( 1 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780230623590: Hollywood’s Exploited: Public Pedagogy, Corporate Movies, and Cultural Crisis (Education, Politics and Public Life)

This book provides an interdisciplinary and collaborative anthology that seeks to make a compelling and exciting analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts (and the larger industry and society to which they are dialectically related) in light of Giroux's ideas about public pedagogy. Foreword by Lawrence Grossberg.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

RICHARD VAN HEERTUM is Assistant Professor of Education at CUNY/College of Staten Island, USA, teaching classes in the education and history departments.
TONY KASHANI is Associate Professor of Film & Media Studies at College of San Mateo, USA, and Adjunct faculty member at Kaplan University, where he teaches Ethics.
ANTHONY J. NOCELLA, II is completing his doctoral work at Syracuse University, USA. He is a Visiting Scholar of SUNY Cortland's Center for Ethics, Peace and Social Justice (CEPS) and is teaching classes in Sociology and Criminology at Le Moyne College.
BENJAMIN FRYMER is Assistant Professor of Sociology in the Hutchins School of Liberal Studies at Sonoma State University, USA.

Review:

"This is an important text that sheds a powerful new light on the exploitation industry we have come to know as Hollywood. It is a book that demands a close reading." - Peter McLaren, Professor of Urban Schooling, University of California, Los Angeles

"A rich and varied collection of commentaries, offering insightful critiques and sociological sensibilities. Of interest to ordinary film buffs and cinematic specialists alike." - Michael Parenti, author of Make-Believe Media and Contrary Notions

"For readers of Hollywood's Exploited, the wisdom will be gained, not received. Against conventional grains, this is an anthology of thoughtful inquiries and tough-minded assessments - challenging us to think anew, and more deeply, about what we see in movies." - Norman Solomon, author of The Habits of Highly Deceptive Media; War Made Easy; and The Trouble with Dilbert

"This smart collection reminds us that whatever reality we might observe and investigate is merely the starting point of thought, struggle, and action; standing directly next to whatever the case may be is always what the case could be or should be. Frymer, Kashani, Nocella, and Van Heertum have assembled a mighty chorus urging us to go beneath surface meanings and instant impressions, official policies and commercial messages, political propaganda, controlling myths, received wisdom and the dogma of common sense. We begin to understand, then, the root causes and social context of the taken-for-granted all around us. This is a call-to-arms." - William Ayers, Distinguished Professor of Education, University of Illinois at Chicago and author of To Teach

"This book offers the clearest evidence yet of how a supposedly 'liberal' Hollywood trades in racial, sexual, and other stereotypes as a matter of course, and why such portrayals of marginalized and otherwise disempowered groups have a profound impact on the public's appreciation of the various forms of social and political discrimination they still face." - Mark LeVine, Professor of Middle Eastern History, University of California, Irvine and author of Why They Don't Hate Us and Heavy Metal Islam

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,71
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kashani II, Tony
Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan (2012)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 7
Librería
W2Books
(Hereford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. A new, unread, unused book in perfect condition with no missing or damaged pages. Shipped from UK. Orders will be dispatched within 48 hours of receiving your order. Orders are dispatched Monday â€" Friday. FREE Returns service (for UK customers) for books upto 2kg please contact us for details. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000065511

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,76
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,71
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Kashani II, Tony
Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan (2012)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â€" all orders are dispatched next working day. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000384428

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 9,50
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Tony Kashani, Richard Van Heertum (Editor), Anthony J. Nocella (Editor), Benjamin Frymer (Editor), Lawrence Grossberg (Foreword)
Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan (2012)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX023062359X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Tony Kashani
Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan (2012)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan, 2012. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IP-9780230623590

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,76
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Editorial: Palgrave MacMillan, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This book provides an interdisciplinary and collaborative anthology that seeks to make a compelling and exciting analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts (and the larger industry and society to which they are dialectically related) in light of Giroux s ideas about public pedagogy. Foreword by Lawrence Grossberg. Nº de ref. de la librería SPR9780230623590

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,48
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Editorial: Palgrave MacMillan, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This book provides an interdisciplinary and collaborative anthology that seeks to make a compelling and exciting analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts (and the larger industry and society to which they are dialectically related) in light of Giroux s ideas about public pedagogy. Foreword by Lawrence Grossberg. Nº de ref. de la librería SPR9780230623590

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan (2017)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 12
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería 023062359X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,46
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,55
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 3
Librería
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 023062359X Brand New! Not Overstocks or Low Quality Book Club Editions! Direct From the Publisher! We're not a giant, faceless warehouse organization! We're a small town bookstore that loves books and loves it's customers! Buy from us and you get great service as well as a great price! Your business is valued and your satisfaction is guaranteed!. Nº de ref. de la librería OTF-9780230623590

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 3
Librería
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 023062359X Brand New! Not Overstocks or Low Quality Book Club Editions! Direct From the Publisher! We're not a giant, faceless warehouse organization! We're a small town bookstore that loves books and loves it's customers! Buy from us and you get great service as well as a great price! Your business is valued and your satisfaction is guaranteed!. Nº de ref. de la librería OTF-S-9780230623590

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Heertum, R. Van [Editor]; Kashani, T. [Editor]; Nocella, A. [Editor]; Frymer, B. [Editor]; Van Heertum, Richard [Editor];
Editorial: Palgrave Macmillan (2010)
ISBN 10: 023062359X ISBN 13: 9780230623590
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Palgrave Macmillan, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería INGM9780230623590

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,66
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda