Restless Nation: Starting Over in America

3,2 valoración promedio
( 10 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780226394794: Restless Nation: Starting Over in America

In Restless Nation, James M. Jasper isolates a narrative that lies very close to the core of the American character. From colonial times to the present day, Americans have always had a deep-rooted belief in the "fresh start"—a belief that still has Americans moving from place to place faster than the citizens of any other nation.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Inside Flap:

What is it that makes Americans so American? It can't be money: although the United States is the most productive economy in the world, it also has the highest poverty rates. It can't really be faith, either: Americans are the most religious people in the advanced industrial world, but they have the oldest official separation of church and state. Skepticism? Americans are highly suspicious of government, but at the same time they have a naive belief in markets. Is there such a thing as an American character amidst these, and other, paradoxes?

In Restless Nation, James M. Jasper argues that this elusive national character can be found in Americans' faith in the fresh start. Americans believe that by relocating or changing their names or finding new jobs, they can make themselves into new people—make more money, get in touch with their inner selves, find spiritual truth, recover their physical health. American culture recommends flight from what you dislike and makes it easy to believe a better life is just around the corner, literally. It is this faith that has brought sixty million immigrants to the shores of the United States. And it is this faith that has put their descendants on the road for hundreds of years. Even today, Americans continue to move far more often—about every five years—than anyone else.

From seventeenth-century publicity agents who extolled the virtues of the New World, to the great Northern migration of the early twentieth century, to yesterday's car commercials, Jasper sees a master narrative of restlessness that winds through American history. He traces this theme through four centuries of American history, using the life stories of famous and not-so-famous people, popular literature and other arts, and archives and statistics. Henry James, Houdini, Frederick Douglass, Bruce Springsteen, the Greek owner of a chain of laundries, and Huck Finn all make appearances in these pages, and Jasper's breadth of knowledge, wry humor, and utterly pleasurable style bring these stories together in an invigorating look at a complicated country. In the tradition of The Lonely Crowd and Habits of the Heart, Restless Nation explores what Americans are really like and how they came to believe so firmly in the "fresh start."

About the Author:

James M. Jasper is the coauthor of The Animal Rights Crusade and author of Nuclear Politics and The Art of Moral Protest, published by the University of Chicago Press

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

James M. Jasper
Editorial: University of Chicago Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción University of Chicago Press, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,48
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

James M. Jasper
Editorial: The University of Chicago Press, United States (2002)
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The University of Chicago Press, United States, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. In Restless Nation, James M. Jasper isolates a narrative that lies very close to the core of the American character. From colonial times to the present day, Americans have always had a deep-rooted belief in the fresh start a belief that still has Americans moving from place to place faster than the citizens of any other nation. Nº de ref. de la librería AAH9780226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

James M. Jasper
Editorial: The University of Chicago Press, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The University of Chicago Press, United States, 2003. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. In Restless Nation, James M. Jasper isolates a narrative that lies very close to the core of the American character. From colonial times to the present day, Americans have always had a deep-rooted belief in the fresh start a belief that still has Americans moving from place to place faster than the citizens of any other nation. Nº de ref. de la librería AAH9780226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

James M. Jasper
Editorial: University Of Chicago Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción University Of Chicago Press, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Jasper
Editorial: Univ of Chicago
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
C. Clayton Thompson - Bookseller
(BOONE, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Univ of Chicago. Estado de conservación: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Nº de ref. de la librería 2554203

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Jasper, James M.
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Cantidad: 10
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2002. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería TX-9780226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

James M. Jasper
Editorial: The University of Chicago Press
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 3
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The University of Chicago Press. Paperback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, Restless Nation: Starting Over in America (New edition), James M. Jasper, In "Restless Nation," James M. Jasper isolates a narrative that lies very close to the core of the American character. From colonial times to the present day, Americans have always had a deep-rooted belief in the "fresh start"-a belief that still has Americans moving from place to place faster than the citizens of any other nation. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,47
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,77
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

James M. Jasper
Editorial: University of Chicago press
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción University of Chicago press. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,18
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,98
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Jasper, James M.
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2002. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

James M Jasper
Editorial: University of Chicago Press (2003)
ISBN 10: 0226394794 ISBN 13: 9780226394794
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción University of Chicago Press, 2003. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería WG-9780226394794

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,51
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,07
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda