Why Red Doesn't Sound Like a Bell: Understanding the feel of consciousness

4,07 valoración promedio
( 15 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780199775224: Why Red Doesn't Sound Like a Bell: Understanding the feel of consciousness

Book by ORegan J Kevin

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

For readers of Perception, O'Regan's Why Red Doesn't Sound Like a Bell provides for a well-argued criticism of and a strong alternative to deterministic perspectives on perception and its role in consciousness. ( Perception)

Críticas:

For readers of ( Perception)

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 8,50
De Estados Unidos de America a España

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

O'Regan, J. Kevin
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Cantidad: 12
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2011. HRD. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VU-9780199775224

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 29,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 8,50
De Estados Unidos de America a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

J. Kevin O regan
Editorial: Oxford University Press Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 10
Librería
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Oxford University Press Inc, United States, 2011. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 236 x 157 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. This book proposes a novel view to explain how we as humans - contrary to current robots - can have the impression of consciously feeling things: for example the red of a sunset, the smell of a rose, the sound of a symphony, or a pain. The book starts off by looking at visual perception. Our ability to see turns out to be much more mysterious than one might think. The eye contains many defects which should seriously interfere with vision. Yet we have the impression of seeing the world in glorious panavision and technicolor. Explaining how this can be the case leads to a new idea about what seeing really is. Seeing is not passively receiving information in the brain, but rather a way of interacting with the world. The role of the brain is not to create visual sensation, but to enable the necessary interactions with the world. This new approach to seeing is extended in the second part of the book to encompass the other senses: hearing, touch, taste and smell. Taking sensory experiences to be modes of interacting with the world explains why these experiences are different in the way they are.It also explains why thoughts or automatic functions in the body, and indeed the vast majority brain functions, are not accompanied by any real feeling. The sensorimotor approach is not simply a philosophical argument: It leads to scientifically verifiable predictions and new research directions. Among these are the phenomena of change blindness, sensory substitution, looked but failed to see , as well as results on color naming and color perception and the localisation of touch on the body. The approach is relevant to the question of what animals and babies can feel, and to understanding what will be necessary for robots to become conscious. Nº de ref. de la librería BZE9780199775224

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 43,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

J. Kevin O'Regan
Editorial: Oxford University Press, USA (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Oxford University Press, USA, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0199775222

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 48,77
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 12,52
De Estados Unidos de America a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

J. Kevin O'Regan
Editorial: Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Cantidad: 12
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Oxford University Press. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0199775222

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,41
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 16,10
De Estados Unidos de America a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

O'regan, J. Kevin
Editorial: Oxford Univ Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Oxford Univ Pr, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Brand New. 1st edition. 224 pages. 9.50x6.50x0.60 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería zk0199775222

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 46,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 17,38
De Reino Unido a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

J. Kevin O'Regan
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 163mm x 13mm x 236mm. Hardcover. This book proposes a novel view to explain how we as humans - contrary to current robots - can have the impression of consciously feeling things: for example the red of a suns.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 211 pages. 0.499. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780199775224

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 25,05
De Australia a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

O'Regan, J. Kevin
Editorial: Oxford University Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Oxford University Press, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0199775222

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 33,99
De Estados Unidos de America a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

J. Kevin O'Regan
Editorial: Oxford University Press, USA (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Oxford University Press, USA, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería SONG0199775222

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 85,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 12,52
De Estados Unidos de America a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

J. Kevin Oregan
ISBN 10: 0199775222 ISBN 13: 9780199775224
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 97801997752241.0

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 105,15
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 22,36
De Estados Unidos de America a España
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío