Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

3,86 valoración promedio
( 635 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780147515346: Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

“A sinister version of The Perfect Storm. Thrilling.”—Sunday Times (UK)

For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild

There’s nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism, and Last Man Off delivers all that against a breathtaking backdrop of icebergs and killer whales. On June 6, 1998, twenty-three-year-old Matt Lewis had just started his dream job as a scientific observer aboard a deep-sea fishing boat in the waters off Antarctica. As the crew haul in the line for the day, a storm begins to brew. When the captain vanishes and they are forced to abandon ship, Lewis leads the escape onto three life rafts, where the battle for survival begins.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

An Amazon Best Book of May 2015: In 1998, a young Scotsman named Matt Lewis sought to boost to his budding career as a marine biologist by securing a position as the "scientific observer" on a fishing vessel. Though he would be considered an officer, his role would be limited and relatively tame compared to the rest of the crews’: documenting wildlife the boat encountered, while also keeping notes on the crew’s adherence to fishing regulations. A coin flip landed him aboard the Sudur Havid, a South African boat bound for the outer waters of Antarctica’s frigid and tempestuous Southern Ocean. Even though his novice eyes, Lewis was immediately struck by its apparent unreadiness, including a dearth of adequate boots and survival suits, and a crew seemingly unprepared for work in the harsh polar environment.

His misgivings were soon realized. As winds rose and whipped the seas into a ship-tossing frenzy, the fuel- and fish-heavy boat listed, taking on water. A disastrous and inexplicable chain of decisions--starting with the Sudur Havid’s chief officers and running down through the ship’s engineers and some of the crew--doomed the ship, putting Lewis in the unlikely position of organizing the frantic evacuation. These are not spoilers--Lewis’s narrative is rich with detail, putting readers in the thick of the action as the panic-struck men stuff themselves into three inadequate rafts and embark on a nightmarish struggle on the open ocean. Last Man Off is a tale of survival, not an adventure story; and while the particulars are often grim and the outcome unhappy, Lewis's book is a sort of catharsis, a compelling testimonial to his experience and the ones that didn’t return. --Jon Foro

About the Author:

Matt Lewis is a trained marine biologist with an MSc with distinction in Marine and Fisheries Science. He now lives with his wife and two children in Aberdeen.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Lewis, Matt
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0147515343. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0147515343ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Matt Lewis
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97801475153460000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,10
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Lewis, Matt
Editorial: Plume Books 2014-05-12 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books 2014-05-12, 2014. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780147515346B

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,13
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Matt Lewis
Editorial: Plume Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister version of The Perfect Storm. Thrilling. --Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There s nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism, and Last Man Off delivers all that against a breathtaking backdrop of icebergs and killer whales. On June 6, 1998, twenty-three-year-old Matt Lewis had just started his dream job as a scientific observer aboard a deep-sea fishing boat in the waters off Antarctica. As the crew haul in the line for the day, a storm begins to brew. When the captain vanishes and they are forced to abandon ship, Lewis leads the escape onto three life rafts, where the battle for survival begins. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9780147515346

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,22
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Lewis, Matt
Editorial: Penguin Group USA (2015)
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Group USA, 2015. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VP-9780147515346

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Matt Lewis
Editorial: Plume Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister version of The Perfect Storm. Thrilling. --Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There s nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism, and Last Man Off delivers all that against a breathtaking backdrop of icebergs and killer whales. On June 6, 1998, twenty-three-year-old Matt Lewis had just started his dream job as a scientific observer aboard a deep-sea fishing boat in the waters off Antarctica. As the crew haul in the line for the day, a storm begins to brew. When the captain vanishes and they are forced to abandon ship, Lewis leads the escape onto three life rafts, where the battle for survival begins. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9780147515346

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Matt Lewis
Editorial: Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Random House. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0147515343

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,71
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Matt Lewis
Editorial: Plume Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A sinister version of The Perfect Storm. Thrilling. --Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There s nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism, and Last Man Off delivers all that against a breathtaking backdrop of icebergs and killer whales. On June 6, 1998, twenty-three-year-old Matt Lewis had just started his dream job as a scientific observer aboard a deep-sea fishing boat in the waters off Antarctica. As the crew haul in the line for the day, a storm begins to brew. When the captain vanishes and they are forced to abandon ship, Lewis leads the escape onto three life rafts, where the battle for survival begins. Nº de ref. de la librería BTE9780147515346

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,84
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Lewis, Matt
Editorial: Plume 2015-05-12 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume 2015-05-12, 2015. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 0147515343. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0147515343ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,40
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Lewis, Matt
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0147515343 ISBN 13: 9780147515346
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0147515343. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0147515343ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,40
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda