Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda

4,12 valoración promedio
( 2.524 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780141014579: Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda
From the Publisher:

If you loved American Sniper you will love Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda. Award-winning journalist Sean Naylor, an eyewitness to the action, vividly portrays the fight for Afghanistan's most hostile battleground.

At dawn on March 2, 2002, the first major battle of the 21st Century began. Over 200 soldiers of the 101st Airborne and 10th Mountain Divisions flew into Afghanistan's Shahikot valley - and into the mouth of a buzz-saw. They were about to pay a bloody price for strategic, higher-level miscalculations that underestimated the enemy's strength and willingness to fight.

After the attacks of September 11, 2001, Coalition forces quickly toppled the Taliban regime from the seat of government. But, believing the war to be all but over, the Pentagon and US Central Command refused to commit the forces required to achieve total victory in Afghanistan. Instead, they delegated responsibility for fighting the war's biggest battle to a tangle of untested units thrown together at the last moment.

Then the world watched as Anaconda seemed to unravel.

Denied the extra infantry, artillery and close air support with which they trained to go to war, the soldiers of this airborne assault fought for survival in brutal high-altitude combat. Backed up by a small, but crucial, team of special forces, they were all that stood between the Coalition and a military disaster.

Perfect for fans of Black Hawk Down, Zero Dark Thirty, Chris Ryan, and Andy McNab.

About the author:

Sean Naylor is a senior writer for the Army Times. He has covered the Afghan mujahideen's war against the Soviets, and American military operations in Somalia, Haiti, Bosnia, Afghanistan, and Iraq. Named one of the 22 "unsung" influential print reporters in Washington by American Journalism Review in May 2002, he earned the White House Correspondents' Association's prestigious Edgar A. Poe Award for his coverage of Operation Anaconda.

From the Publisher:

At dawn on March 2, 2002, the first major battle of the 21st Century began. Over 200 soldiers of the 101st Airborne and 10th Mountain Divisions flew into Afghanistan's Shahikot valley - and into the mouth of a buzz-saw. They were about to pay a bloody price for strategic, higher-level miscalculations that underestimated the enemy's strength and willingness to fight.

After the attacks of September 11, 2001, Coalition forces quickly toppled the Taliban regime from the seat of government. But, believing the war to be all but over, the Pentagon and US Central Command refused to commit the forces required to achieve total victory in Afghanistan. Instead, they delegated responsibility for fighting the war's biggest battle to a tangle of untested units thrown together at the last moment.

Then the world watched as Anaconda seemed to unravel.

Denied the extra infantry, artillery and close air support with which they trained to go to war, the soldiers of this airborne assault fought for survival in brutal high-altitude combat. Backed up by a small, but crucial, team of special forces, they were all that stood between the Coalition and a military disaster.

Now, award-winning journalist Sean Naylor, an eyewitness to the action, vividly portrays the fight for Afghanistan's most hostile battleground and details the failures of military intelligence and planning that left victory hanging by a thread.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Naylor, Sean
Editorial: PENGUIN (2006)
ISBN 10: 0141014571 ISBN 13: 9780141014579
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción PENGUIN, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0141014571

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,13
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Naylor, Sean
Editorial: PENGUIN (2006)
ISBN 10: 0141014571 ISBN 13: 9780141014579
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción PENGUIN, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0141014571

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,71
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Naylor, Sean
Editorial: PENGUIN (2006)
ISBN 10: 0141014571 ISBN 13: 9780141014579
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción PENGUIN, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New item. Nº de ref. de la librería QX-134-17-9236109

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 38,63
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 9,29
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío