Dublin Tenement Life: An Oral History

3,95 valoración promedio
( 38 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780140296259: Dublin Tenement Life: An Oral History

In Dublin Tenement Life, historian Kevin C. Kearns presents a fascinating, often heartbreaking look at life in the slums of Dublin from the early nineteenth century to the middle of the twentieth. Gathering original and authentic oral testimonies from survivors of the old Dublin tenements and presenting along with the social and historical background, as well as a valuable collection of photographs, Kearns shows what life was like in Europe's most wretched slums. Their accounts are sometimes tragic, but always moving. Equally, they are an inspiring chronicle of struggle, survival, and the triumph of the human spirit.

For readers of books such as A Star Called Henry or Angela's Ashes, for fans of Studs Terkel--or for anyone fascinated by modern Irish history--Dublin Tenement Life will fill a gap in our knowledge about Irish urban life.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Kevin C. Kearns, is a social historian and professor emeritus at the University of Northern Colorado. He has conducted twenty-eight research trips to Ireland and written seven books on Dublin, including Dublin Pub Life and Lore: An Oral History.

Review:

A fascinating and vital book that captures perfectly the voices, smells and sounds of a way of life.... -- Roddy Doyle

Among the finest books ever written about Dublin. -- The Sunday Tribune

This book will long stand as the definitive social history of Ireland's gulags. -- Sunday Press

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kevin C. Kearns
Editorial: Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0140296255

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,44
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Kevin C. Kearns
Editorial: Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0140296255

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Kearns, Kevin C.
Editorial: Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110140296255

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 33,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Kearns, Kevin C.
Editorial: Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0140296255 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0027354

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,30
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,22
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío