Eddie Little Another Day in Paradise

ISBN 13: 9780099768319

Another Day in Paradise

3,96 valoración promedio
( 250 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780099768319: Another Day in Paradise

In the tradition of Jim Carroll's Basketball Diaries, Eddie Little's debut novel traces the outlaw life of a young Irish American. A teenage speed freak and petty thief, Bobbie and his Puerto Rican girlfriend, Rosie, are taken under the wing of an all-round criminal opportunist named Mel, who is old enough to be Bobbie's father, and Mel's girlfriend, Syd. Bobbie's chance to get back on his feet begins as the inside man in a pharmaceutical company break-in. The ensuing crime spree takes the foursome across the Midwest and California of the early '70s--and deeper into the dark world of heroin addiction.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From Kirkus Reviews:

A gutsy, fresh, and fierce drug novel, something like walking over broken glass barefoot, by first-novelist and former addict Little. Most of the story, set during the late '60s and early '70s in the Midwest and California, has an autobiographical tang. Bobbie, the 14-year-old Irish hero, has been on the street since he was 11, and hasn't much hope of living to 20. As Bobbie matures into a copper-bottomed Huck Finn on heroin, pursuing a life of crime and bloodshed, one fears that the novel's big rainbow buzz will fade and Bobbie head for rehab. But since 12- step programs haven't yet been invented, all stays hopped up and oblivion-bound till the end. Before the drug takes charge of him, Bobbie is braced--even empowered--by the heroin. But after a year of this, no amount of the stuff can return him to well-being. The good days, he realizes, are gone forever, and the need to support his habit with various crimes, petty and big-time, only intensifies. And so little Bobbie takes up with a professional burglar named Mel, twice his age, who recruits him as a worthy sidekick for drug errands usually run around midnight. Bobbie, near the same time, falls in love with Rosie, a star-crossed 17- year-old, also a druggie. Little's strongest suit is to suggest Bobbie's masked fear of exposing his love and friendship for Rosie and Mel: A pro, after all, is supposed to show no feeling. Little keeps Bobbie's emotions capped but pulsating at every step of the way. Little, who runs an AIDS assistance organization in Los Angeles, writes like a bad dream on wheels, unique in the electric authenticity that he brings to every sentence. The stages of addiction have seldom been so vividly drawn. (Film rights to Miramax; author tour) -- Copyright ©1997, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

At age 13, Bobbie leaves the violent, abusive home where he was raised, and this book details his following year. He has an older girlfriend, carries a gun, takes drugs, and is on an ever-tightening spiral to hell, his crimes escalating until they include murder. The plot, which highlights Bobbie's increasing dependence on the highs of violence, is not pointless but instead emphasizes a frightening reality. For Bobbie, read Little. He's been there, and his graphic story is written with an immediacy and realism that will make normal thinking people cringe and parents anxious to protect their children from the harshness in which some youth live. Movie rights have been sold, so expect some interest.?Andrea Lee Shuey, Dallas P.L.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar usado Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Little, Eddie
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Nº de ref. de la librería GOR001825386

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 0,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Little, Eddie
Editorial: Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0007895607

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 0,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Little, Eddie
Editorial: Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Cantidad: 1
Librería
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 1998. Estado de conservación: Good. New Ed. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP87330054

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 0,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,79
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Little, Eddie
Editorial: Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Re-Read Ltd
(Doncaster, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: Good. 0099768313 Book is in good condition, with typical reading wear to cover and spine. Pages are yelllowing. Nº de ref. de la librería E0041234

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 0,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Eddie Little
Editorial: -
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción -. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Another Day in Paradise This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Nº de ref. de la librería 7719-9780099768319

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,26
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Eddie Little
Editorial: -
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción -. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Good. Another Day in Paradise This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Nº de ref. de la librería 9053-9780099768319

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,26
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Eddie Little
Editorial: Vintage 01/10/1998 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Cantidad: 2
Librería
Bahamut Media
(Reading, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage 01/10/1998, 1998. Estado de conservación: Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Nº de ref. de la librería 2341-9780099768319

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,26
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Eddie Little
Editorial: Vintage 01/10/1998 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Cantidad: 2
Librería
Bahamut Media
(Reading, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage 01/10/1998, 1998. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Nº de ref. de la librería 6545-9780099768319

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,26
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Little, Eddie
Editorial: Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Used; Good. Nº de ref. de la librería 1136659

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,06
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Little, Eddie
Editorial: Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Greener Books
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Used; Good. cover creased and frayed, . yellow pages due to age, stains on sides, **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Nº de ref. de la librería 2485374

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,09
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda