Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

3,17 valoración promedio
( 24 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780099281931: Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

A clever, thought-provoking look at the biological roots of economics -- Kealey’s insightful work illuminates in the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Steven Pinker and Jared Diamond.

In this highly original work, the author makes a groundbreaking and exciting connection between the
evolutionary and economic history of humanity. He explains how the roots of barter, trade and the contract are embedded in human nature, and how markets work on the evolutionary patterns of natural selection.

Splendidly multi-faceted, the book travels across human history from Neolithic times, through Ancient Egypt and the Renaissance European explorers, to the failure of the Soviet economy in recent years. Through this journey Kealey skillfully demonstrates how an understanding of biology and natural selection radically transforms our view of economics, business, technology and the economic history of the human species. This exceptional study will appeal to anyone who enjoys popular science, history or serious business books. Sex, Science and Profits is witty, magnificent, thought- provoking and provocative. It promises to be an important and highly controversial book.
From the Hardcover edition.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Terence Kealey is a clinical biochemist at the University of Cambridge and at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, specializing in the biochemistry of hair. He writes regularly for the Spectator and the New Scientist.
From the Hardcover edition.

Review:

Praise for Kealey’s The Economic Laws of Scientific Research:
“A brilliant book. One of the most appetizing and sustained polemics ever concocted on a serious
topic” -- Economist

“One of the most intelligent, trend-changing and courageous books I have ever read” -- Matt Ridley, Daily Telegraph
From the Hardcover edition.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Terence Kealey
Editorial: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The question What is art? is frequently debated, but What is science? appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us.Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? In this ground-breaking study in the tradition of Richard Dawkins and Jared Diamond, Terence Kealey shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Richly multi-disciplinary, witty, brilliant and thought-provoking, it is an important and controversial book. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,13
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Terence Kealey
Editorial: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The question What is art? is frequently debated, but What is science? appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us.Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? In this ground-breaking study in the tradition of Richard Dawkins and Jared Diamond, Terence Kealey shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Richly multi-disciplinary, witty, brilliant and thought-provoking, it is an important and controversial book. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Terence Kealey
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800992819310000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Kealey, Terence
Editorial: Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 2009. Estado de conservación: New. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? This study shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: JHBK5; KJB; PD. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 203 x 130 x 32. Weight in Grams: 336. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Terence Kealey
Editorial: Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 3
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000190209

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,06
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Kealey, Terence
Editorial: Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. Estado de conservación: New. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? This study shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: JHBK5; KJB; PD. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 203 x 130 x 32. Weight in Grams: 336. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Terence Kealey
Editorial: Random House 2009-01-01, London (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House 2009-01-01, London, 2009. paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,34
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Terence Kealey
Editorial: Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 2009. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería GH9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,93
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Terence Kealey
Editorial: Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 5
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, Sex, Science and Profits, Terence Kealey, The question 'What is art?' is frequently debated, but 'What is science?' appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us.Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? In this ground-breaking study in the tradition of Richard Dawkins and Jared Diamond, Terence Kealey shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Richly multi-disciplinary, witty, brilliant and thought-provoking, it is an important and controversial book. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780099281931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,75
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Terence Kealey
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Not Signed; The question 'What is art?' is frequently debated, but 'What is science?' appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us.Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780099281931_rkm

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,31
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda