Marisha Pessl Night Film

ISBN 13: 9780091953799

Night Film

3,78 valoración promedio
( 54.427 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780091953799: Night Film

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR · Cosmopolitan · Kirkus Reviews · BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Praise for Night Film
 
Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”The Washington Post
 
“Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”USA Today
 
“Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”The Boston Globe
 
“Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”Entertainment Weekly
 
“A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”New York
 
“Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”Vanity Fair
From the Hardcover edition.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

An Amazon Best Book of the Month, August 2013: As she proved with her first book (Special Topics in Calamity Physics), Pessl is a sly, smart, sophisticated writer. What’s surprising about her elaborately plotted and addictive new novel is how it gets better as it grows more convoluted. I can envision a massive white board busy with diagrams and arrows to track the spider-webbed storyline. Once Pessl works past a few slow spots and finds her momentum, the story churns into a dark, propulsive, and insatiable mystery. The daughter of a reclusive horror film director is found dead, and a disgraced journalist and two sidekicks become obsessed with uncovering the truth of her death and the true identity of her infamous father, whose terrifying films (banned from theaters and found only via underground methods) depict what is “graphic and dark and gorgeous about life, thereby conquering the monsters of your mind.” Complex, shadowy, and a bit sad, Pessl’s riveting tale keeps us guessing until the final pages, along the way raising questions about reality, magic, art, fear, and celebrity. Sprinkled throughout are clever page props--website screenshots, news clippings, smudged police reports, and coffee-stained transcripts. It all holds together impressively, with a satisfying payoff that’ll leave you spent and sorry the ride is over. Special note to impatient readers (like me): stick with it, and savor it. You’ll be glad you did. --Neal Thompson

About the Author:

Marisha Pessl’s bestselling debut novel, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, won the John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize (now the Center for Fiction’s Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize), and was selected as one of the 10 Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review. Pessl grew up in Asheville, North Carolina, and currently resides in New York City.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Marisha Pessl
Editorial: Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 0091953790 ISBN 13: 9780091953799
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0091953790

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Pessl, Marisha
Editorial: Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 0091953790 ISBN 13: 9780091953799
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110091953790

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,57
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Marisha Pessl
Editorial: Hutchinson (2013)
ISBN 10: 0091953790 ISBN 13: 9780091953799
Nuevos Taschenbuch Cantidad: 1
Librería
AHA-BUCH
(Einbeck, Alemania)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hutchinson, 2013. Taschenbuch. Estado de conservación: Neu. Neu Neuware, Importqualität, auf Lager, Sofortversand - On a damp October night, beautiful, young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Her death is ruled a suicide, but veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding her death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of Ashley's father: cult horror film director Stanislas Cordova. Rumored to be shuttered away in a remote Adirondack estate, Cordova remains an enigma. Though much has been written about his unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself. With the help of two strangers, McGrath is slowly drawn into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world as he pieces together the answers: What really happened to Ashley Who is Cordova And once we face our deepest fears-what lies on the other side 624 pp. Englisch. Nº de ref. de la librería INF1000360535

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 30,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 29,90
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Marisha Pessl
Editorial: Hutchinson (2013)
ISBN 10: 0091953790 ISBN 13: 9780091953799
Nuevos Taschenbuch Cantidad: 1
Librería
AHA-BUCH
(Einbeck, Alemania)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hutchinson, 2013. Taschenbuch. Estado de conservación: Neu. Neu Neuware, Importqualität, auf Lager, Versand per Büchersendung - On a damp October night, beautiful, young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Her death is ruled a suicide, but veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding her death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of Ashley's father: cult horror film director Stanislas Cordova. Rumored to be shuttered away in a remote Adirondack estate, Cordova remains an enigma. Though much has been written about his unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself. With the help of two strangers, McGrath is slowly drawn into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world as he pieces together the answers: What really happened to Ashley Who is Cordova And once we face our deepest fears-what lies on the other side 624 pp. Englisch. Nº de ref. de la librería INF1000361358

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 30,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 29,90
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío