Born Survivors: Three Young Mothers and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage, Defiance, and Hope

4,3 valoración promedio
( 2.774 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780062370259: Born Survivors: Three Young Mothers and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage, Defiance, and Hope

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Holden, Wendy
Editorial: Harper, U.S.A. (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
I Cannot Live Without Books
(West Dennis, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, U.S.A., 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. 8vo - over 7¾ - 9¾" tall. Among the millions of Holocaust victims sent to Auschwitz II-Birkenau in 1944, Priska, Rachel, and Anka each pass through its infamous gates with a secret. Strangers to one another, they are newly pregnant, and facing an uncertain fate without their husbands. Alone, scared, and with so many loved ones already lost to the Nazis, these young women are privately determined to hold on to all they have left: their lives and those of their unborn babies. That the gas chambers ran out of Zyklon B just after the babies were born, before they and their mothers could be exterminated, is just one of several miracles that allowed them all to survive and rebuild their lives after World War II. Born Survivors follows the mothers' incredible journey -- first to Auschwitz, where they each came under the murderous scrutiny of Dr. Josef Mengele; then to a German slave-labor camp, where, half-starved and almost worked to death, they struggled to conceal their condition; and, finally, as the Allies closed in, their hellish seventeen-day train journey with thousands of other prisoners to the Mauthausen death camp in Austria. Biographer Wendy Holden details the courage and kindness of strangers, including guards and civilians, which helped save these women and their children. Sixty-five years later, the three "miracle babies" meet for the first time at Mauthausen for the anniversary of the American liberation. United by their remarkable experiences of survival against all odds, they come to consider each other "siblings of the heart." In Born Survivors, Holden brings all three stories together for the first time, to mark their seventieth birthdays and the seventieth anniversary of the ending of the war. A heart-stopping account of how three mothers and their newborns fought to survive the Holocaust, Born Survivors is also a life-affirming celebration of our capacity to care and love amid inconceivable cruelty. Harper-Collins, Hardcover, 1st Edition, 2015 This is a BRAND NEW book. There is a black "closeout/remainder" mark on the bottom page edges. Nº de ref. de la librería 000014

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,39
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Holden, Wendy
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800623702590000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Holden, Wendy
Editorial: Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Collins Publishers. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0062370251

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,18
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Holden, Wendy
Editorial: HARPER COLLINS (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HARPER COLLINS, 2015. HRD. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780062370259

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Holden, Wendy
Editorial: Harper
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0062370251 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Nº de ref. de la librería 17616161

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Holden, Wendy
Editorial: Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0062370251

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,34
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,76
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Wendy Holden
Editorial: Harper, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, United States, 2015. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 229 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too--a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer s Wife, Born Survivors celebrates three mothers who defied death to give their children life. Eastern Europe, 1944: Three women believe they are pregnant, but are torn from their husbands before they can be certain. Rachel is sent to Auschwitz, unaware that her husband has been shot. Priska and her husband travel there together, but are immediately separated. Also at Auschwitz, Anka hopes in vain to be reunited with her husband. With the rest of their families gassed, these young wives are determined to hold on to all they have left--their lives, and those of their unborn babies. Having concealed their condition from infamous Nazi doctor Josef Mengele, they are forced to work and almost starved to death, living in daily fear of their pregnancies being detected by the SS. In April 1945, as the Allies close in, Priska gives birth. She and her baby, along with Anka, Rachel, and the remaining inmates, are sent to Mauthausen concentration camp on a hellish seventeen-day train journey. Rachel gives birth on the train, and Anka at the camp gates. All believe they will die, but then a miracle occurs. The gas chamber runs out of Zyklon-B, and as the Allied troops near, the SS flee. Against all odds, the three mothers and their newborns survive their treacherous journey to freedom. On the seventieth anniversary of Mauthausen s liberation from the Nazis by American soldiers, renowned biographer Wendy Holden recounts this extraordinary story of three children united by their mothers unbelievable--yet ultimately successful--fight for survival. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780062370259

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Wendy Holden
Editorial: Harper, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, United States, 2015. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 229 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too--a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer s Wife, Born Survivors celebrates three mothers who defied death to give their children life. Eastern Europe, 1944: Three women believe they are pregnant, but are torn from their husbands before they can be certain. Rachel is sent to Auschwitz, unaware that her husband has been shot. Priska and her husband travel there together, but are immediately separated. Also at Auschwitz, Anka hopes in vain to be reunited with her husband. With the rest of their families gassed, these young wives are determined to hold on to all they have left--their lives, and those of their unborn babies. Having concealed their condition from infamous Nazi doctor Josef Mengele, they are forced to work and almost starved to death, living in daily fear of their pregnancies being detected by the SS. In April 1945, as the Allies close in, Priska gives birth. She and her baby, along with Anka, Rachel, and the remaining inmates, are sent to Mauthausen concentration camp on a hellish seventeen-day train journey. Rachel gives birth on the train, and Anka at the camp gates. All believe they will die, but then a miracle occurs. The gas chamber runs out of Zyklon-B, and as the Allied troops near, the SS flee. Against all odds, the three mothers and their newborns survive their treacherous journey to freedom. On the seventieth anniversary of Mauthausen s liberation from the Nazis by American soldiers, renowned biographer Wendy Holden recounts this extraordinary story of three children united by their mothers unbelievable--yet ultimately successful--fight for survival. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780062370259

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Wendy Holden
Editorial: Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0062370251

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,60
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Wendy Holden
Editorial: Harper
ISBN 10: 0062370251 ISBN 13: 9780062370259
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 3
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper. Hardback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, Born Survivors: Three Young Mothers and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage, Defiance, and Hope, Wendy Holden. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780062370259

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,85
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda