The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother and Me: An Aristocratic Family, a High-Society Scandal and an Extraordinary Legacy

3,61 valoración promedio
( 140 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780062338945: The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother and Me: An Aristocratic Family, a High-Society Scandal and an Extraordinary Legacy

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, 2015. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: This beguiling tale of a scandalous mnage trois among England's upper classes is a high society love story that combines memoir and biography into a fascinating, heady read in the vein of The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage. Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff's grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a beautiful socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man--Gerald, Lord Berners--for more than a decade. Stout, eccentric, and significantly older, Gerald was a well-known composer, and at home among scholars. He also owned one of Britain's loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House in Oxfordshire. The two made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable mnage trois. In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy illustrated with dozens of photographs, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage. Who was Gerald, and what brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof? Why did Jennifer marry Robert? Piecing together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality, she finally allows old ghosts to rest. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE_book_new_0062338943

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería 0062338943

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,96
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Zinovieff, Sofka
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800623389450000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Collins Publishers. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0062338943

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,30
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 6
Librería
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0062338943 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Nº de ref. de la librería 17399876

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,76
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: HARPER COLLINS (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
PBShop
(Secaucus, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HARPER COLLINS, 2015. HRD. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780062338945

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,76
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, United States, 2015. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 234 x 180 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Like The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage, this beguiling, heady tale of a scandalous menage a trois among England s upper classes combines memoir and biography to re-create an unforgettably decadent world.Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff s grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a gorgeous socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man Gerald, Lord Berners for more than a decade.Stout, eccentric and significantly older, Gerald was a composer, writer and aesthete a creative aristocrat most at home in the company of the era s best and brightest minds. He also owned one of Britain s loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House, in Oxfordshire, which under his stewardship became a beacon of sybaritic beauty. Robert and Gerald made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable menage a trois.In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage: Gerald, the complex and talented heir to a legendary house, its walls lined with priceless art and its gardens roamed by a bevy of doves, where he entertained everyone from Igor Stravinsky to Gertrude Stein. What brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof, and why did Jennifer stay and marry Robert? Blending memoir and biography in her quest to lay old ghosts to rest, Zinovieff pieces together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality. The resulting story, defined by keen insight, deep affection and marvelous wit, captures the glory and indulgence of the age, and explores the many ways in which we have the capacity to love. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780062338945

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 28,96
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, United States, 2015. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 234 x 180 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Like The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage, this beguiling, heady tale of a scandalous menage a trois among England s upper classes combines memoir and biography to re-create an unforgettably decadent world.Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff s grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a gorgeous socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man Gerald, Lord Berners for more than a decade.Stout, eccentric and significantly older, Gerald was a composer, writer and aesthete a creative aristocrat most at home in the company of the era s best and brightest minds. He also owned one of Britain s loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House, in Oxfordshire, which under his stewardship became a beacon of sybaritic beauty. Robert and Gerald made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable menage a trois.In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage: Gerald, the complex and talented heir to a legendary house, its walls lined with priceless art and its gardens roamed by a bevy of doves, where he entertained everyone from Igor Stravinsky to Gertrude Stein. What brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof, and why did Jennifer stay and marry Robert? Blending memoir and biography in her quest to lay old ghosts to rest, Zinovieff pieces together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality. The resulting story, defined by keen insight, deep affection and marvelous wit, captures the glory and indulgence of the age, and explores the many ways in which we have the capacity to love. Nº de ref. de la librería AAS9780062338945

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 29,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 4
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper, 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0062338943

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,48
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,82
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editorial: Harper
ISBN 10: 0062338943 ISBN 13: 9780062338945
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0062338943 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería TM-0062338943

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,76
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda