Seize the Fire: Heroism, Duty, and Nelson's Battle of Trafalgar

3,8 valoración promedio
( 262 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780060753627: Seize the Fire: Heroism, Duty, and Nelson's Battle of Trafalgar

In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain's nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson's Seize the Fire is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Adam Nicols on is the author of Seamanship, God's Secretaries, and Seize the Fire. He has won both the Somerset Maugham and William Heinemann awards, and he lives with his family at Sissinghurst Castle in England.

Review:

“Elegant and imaginative.” (Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post)

“The reader will find nothing dull about this sparkling work...majestic, poetic and, at base, authentic.” (Literary Review)

“Vibrant and welcome addition to the admittedly already large library of Nelsonia.” (Jonathan Bouquet, The Observer)

“A well-reasoned transoceanic rejoinder to Freeman’s Affairs of Honor, and a pleasure for fans of Aubrey and Hornblower.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Bold and provocative...Nicolson’s book stands out from amongst its rivals.” (Sunday Telegraph)

“argued with vigour and written with grace, it is an illuminating piece of interpretive cultural history.” (Sunday Times (London))

“Nicolson’s eye for detail creates a compelling readability.” (Jonathan Mirsky, The Spectator (A Book of the Year))

“full of suspense and vivid, raw descriptions of the butchery...sublime writing” (The Scotsman)

“Of the books marking the bicentenary of...Trafalgar, Adam Nicolson’s can claim to be one of the most original” (The Week)

“strikingly original...Mr. Nicolson brings to life superbly the horror, devastation and gore of Trafalgar.” (The Economist)

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Nicolson, Adam
Editorial: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0060753625 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería SWATI2132260957

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,93
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Adam Nicolson
Editorial: Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0060753625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Adam Nicolson
Editorial: Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0060753625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,22
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Nicolson, Adam
Editorial: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0060753625 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería XM-0060753625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Adam Nicolson
Editorial: HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain s nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson s Seize the Fire is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?. Nº de ref. de la librería LIE9780060753627

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Adam Nicolson
Editorial: Harperperennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 15
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harperperennial, 2006. Estado de conservación: New. This item is printed on demand for shipment within 3 working days. Nº de ref. de la librería LP9780060753627

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Adam Nicolson
Editorial: Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. reprint edition. 359 pages. 8.00x5.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería zk0060753625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,76
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Nicolson, Adam
Editorial: Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110060753625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 30,93
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Nicolson, Adam
Editorial: Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New!. Nº de ref. de la librería VIB0060753625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 31,43
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,54
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Nicolson, Adam
Editorial: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0060753625 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0011928

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,30
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,22
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío