Literature Claire Kendal The Book of You

ISBN 13: 9780007531646

The Book of You

3,6 valoración promedio
( 9.413 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780007531646: The Book of You

A mesmerizing tale of psychological suspense about a woman who must fight to escape an expert manipulator determined to possess her, Claire Kendal’s debut novel is a sophisticated and disturbing portrait of compulsion, control, and terror that will appeal to fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Silent Wife, and Into the Darkest Corner.

His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns. At the university where she works. Her favorite sewing shop. The train station. Outside her apartment. His messages choke her voice mail; his gifts litter her mailbox. Since that one regrettable night, his obsession with her has grown, becoming more terrifying with each passing day. And as Rafe has made clear, he will never let her go.

Clarissa’s only escape from this harrowing nightmare is inside a courtroom—where she is a juror on a trial involving a victim whose experiences eerily parallel her own. There she finds some peace and even makes new friends, including an attractive widower named Robert, whose caring attentions make her feel desired and safe. But as a disturbingly violent crime unfolds in the courtroom, Clarissa realizes that to survive she must expose Rafe herself. Conceiving a plan, she begins collecting the evidence of Rafe’s madness to use against him—a record of terror that will force her to relive every excruciating moment she desperately wants to forget. Proof that will reveal the twisted, macabre fairy tale that Rafe has spun around them . . . with an ending more horrifying than her darkest fears.

Masterfully constructed, filled with exquisite tension and a pervasive sense of menace, The Book of You explores the lines between love and compulsion, fantasy and reality, and offers a heart-stopping portrait of a woman determined to survive. Claire Kendal’s extraordinary debut will haunt readers long after it reaches its terrifying, breathtaking conclusion.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Back Cover:

His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns. At work. At her apartment. At the park. His messages choke her voicemail; his unwanted gifts keep appearing at her door. And as he has made clear, he will never let her go.

Clarissa's only sanctuary is the courtroom where she serves jury duty. The trial's rhythm allows her space to make new friends, including Robert, an attractive widower. But Rafe's relentless fixation, now fueled by jealousy, escalates in tandem with the chilling tale of predator and prey unfolding before Clarissa in court. Her only chance of escape lies in exposing Rafe's sinister intentions. Strand by strand she unravels the macabre fairy tale Rafe has spun around them and discovers that the happy ending he envisions is more horrifying than her darkest fears.

Masterfully constructed, with riveting tension and a haunting sense of menace, Claire Kendal's extraordinary debut explores the lines between obsession and love, offering a heart-stopping portrait of a woman determined to survive.

About the Author:

Claire Kendal was born in America and educated in England, where she has spent all her adult life. Her first novel, The Book of You, was translated into more than twenty languages. Claire teaches English literature and creative writing, and lives in England’s South West region with her family.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,76
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kendal, Claire
Editorial: HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007531648 ISBN 13: 9780007531646
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins, 2014. Estado de conservación: New. Ships from the UK. BRAND NEW. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP76039565

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 0,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,76
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Kendal, Claire
Editorial: HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007531648 ISBN 13: 9780007531646
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 5
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins, 2014. Estado de conservación: New. 2014. Hardcover. . . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería KCD0013880

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Kendal, Claire
Editorial: HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007531648 ISBN 13: 9780007531646
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 5
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins. Estado de conservación: New. 2014. Hardcover. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. de la librería KCD0013880

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,73
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Kendal, Claire
Editorial: Harpercollins Publishers (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007531648 ISBN 13: 9780007531646
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harpercollins Publishers, 2014. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Brand New. 384 pages. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería zk0007531648

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,72
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Claire Kendal
Editorial: Harper Collins Publishers, UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007531648 ISBN 13: 9780007531646
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad: 2
Librería
Analecta Books
(Barry, VOG, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Collins Publishers, UK, 2014. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. 1st Edition. Signed, lined and dated by the author. Synopsis : A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined. Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. de la librería 001218

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 19,59
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío