Blood and Steel (Throne of the Caesars)

3,88 valoración promedio
( 171 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780007499885: Blood and Steel (Throne of the Caesars)

By the bestselling author of the Warrior of Rome series, the second book in a new major series for fans of George R.R. Martin and Bernard Cornwell

Blending heart-pounding action and historical accuracy, Harry Sidebottom’s bestselling Warrior of Rome series took readers from the shouts of the battlefield to the whisperings of the emperor’s inner circle. In this second book of his new Throne of the Caesars series, Sidebottom continues his retelling of one of the bloodiest periods of Roman history―the Year of the Six Emperors. 

In Rome in the year 238 AD, Emperor Maximinus’s reign hangs in the balance. The empire is bleeding manpower and money in an attempt to sustain its wars in the north, and rebellions flare in the far reaches of its territories. 

Meanwhile in Africa, Gordian the Elder and Younger are proclaimed as the new Augusti. A family descending from the Imperial bloodline, they represent a chance for the establishment to take back the empire. The first blood of the revolt is shed in Rome when an assassin murders the emperor’s prefect, announcing to Rome that the Gordians have taken the throne; still bitter at Maximinus’s rise from the barracks to power, the Senate endorses the rebellion, and chaos descends on the capitol.  

But in his heart, Maximinus is a man of war: when he hears of the betrayal, he acts with decisive brutality and violence. On the dusty plains outside Carthage, blood and steel will determine the fate of the Roman Empire.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Harry Sidebottom teaches classical history at Oxford, where he is a Fellow of St. Benet’s Hall and a lecturer at Lincoln College. He has an international reputation as a scholar, having published widely on ancient warfare, classical art, and the cultural history of the Roman Empire. Blood and Steel is the second book in a major new series, Throne of the Caesars, and follows his acclaimed and bestselling series, Warrior of Rome. He divides his time between Oxford and Newmarket in Suffolk, where he lives with his wife and two sons.

Review:

“Swashbuckling as well as bloody, yet curiously plausible ... Best of all [Sidebottom] has a real gift for summoning up a sense of place, and conveying the sheer vastness of the Roman empire and its implications.”
- Times Literary Supplement

“Harry Sidebottom continues his “Throne of the Caesars” series (begun in 2014’s Iron & Rust) with his new novel, Blood & Steel, and reading the intense drama he crafts out of the tumultuous events of the Roman Empire in AD 238 is a reminder that we’re lucky to have these books... This is an era of Roman history for which we have less reliable primary source histories than we’d like; it’s the perfect playground for a novelist, and it’s found a superb dramatist.”
- Open Letters Monthly

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,55
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Harry Sidebottom
Editorial: Harper Collins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007499884 ISBN 13: 9780007499885
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Postscript Books
(NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harper Collins, 2015. Estado de conservación: New. The second book in an epic series, Blood and Steel opens in 238 CE as Emperor Maximus' reign hangs in the balance, while in Africa the Gordians, father and son, stand ready to take the throne. With an 'Historical Afterword'. Nº de ref. de la librería 225046

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,55
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Harry Sidebottom
ISBN 10: 0007499884 ISBN 13: 9780007499885
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2015. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Hardcover. From the bestselling author of WARRIOR OF ROME comes the second book in an epic new series set in third century Rome; a dramatic era of murder, coup, counter-rebellions and ci.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 448 pages. 0.802. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780007499885

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 31,44
De Australia a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío