Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

4,16 valoración promedio
( 50 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780007459872: Raptor: A Journey Through Birds
Críticas:

‘Lockhart's prose is so intimate, urgent, and visceral as to make his darkly resonant ruminations almost unfailingly gripping’ Independent

‘A hymn in praise of living, soaring, terrifying grandeur ... his exquisite, poetic language is a sensuous delight without sacrificing scientific accuracy ... A tour de force’ Daily Mail

‘Lockhart puts the rapture back in the raptor. Raptor rips at its words, turning them into exquisite portraits of the utter wild, shaping soaring, obsessive beauty out of the British landscape and its imperial birds. A true heir to J.A. Baker's The Peregrine, and T.H. White's The Goshawk' Philip Hoare

‘In Lockhart’s soaring debut he laces vivid prose with illuminating facts ... He elegantly depicts these creatures of the sky and, in doing so, celebrates the natural richness of the country over which they fly’ Financial Times

‘If you publish a book on birds of prey in the tumultuous wake of Helen MacDonald’s prizewinning H is for Hawk, you expect comparisons. James MacDonald Lockhart can relax. His book is outstanding ... Wild birds of prey represent the living spirit of a place- of Britain. In this delicate, complex, open-ended book, full of freshness and movement, he captures that wild spirit without ever making it feel captive’ Sunday Times

‘Lockhart brings out both the birds’ ecstatic gifts of flight but also the tragedy and triumph of their predatory lifestyle... His descriptions are as precise as they are inventive’ Observer

‘Lockhart is stepping towards the distinguished company of the great modern literary books on birds of prey... The writing, at times, is as good as anything we have on the subject to date’ Country Life

‘His understanding of raptor ethology shines’ Nature

‘Any bird of prey fan will find it irresistible ... thoroughly recommended’ BirdGuides

‘Nothing prepared me for the sustained brilliance and intensity of this book ... Warm, intimate, full of wonder and delight in the ways the birds revealed themselves’ Caught by the River

Reseña del editor:

A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald

Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores – from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 222 x 141 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies. Nº de ref. de la librería AWC9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Macdonald Lockhart, James
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 22112487-n

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,35
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 222 x 141 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies. Nº de ref. de la librería AWC9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Editorial: Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 11
Librería
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate, 2016. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000182835

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,51
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 8,67
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

James Macdonald Lockhart
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800074598720000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate 2015-09-24 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate 2015-09-24, 2015. Estado de conservación: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-GRD-05167548

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,35
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. Estado de conservación: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,72
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers. Estado de conservación: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. de la librería V9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,38
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 5
Librería
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London, 2016. hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,20
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 5
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate, 2016. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería EH9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,72
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,49
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda