Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

4,14 valoración promedio
( 76 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780007459872: Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011.

A book about how raptors and the landscapes they live in have possessed the author; “My eyes are always quivering for birds of prey. I have always been turned to their presence”.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

James Macdonald Lockhart is an associate editor of, and regular contributor to, Archipelago Magazine, and a literary agent at Antony Harwood Limited.

Review:

`Lockhart's prose is so intimate, urgent, and visceral as to make his darkly resonant ruminations almost unfailingly gripping' Independent`A hymn in praise of living, soaring, terrifying grandeur ... his exquisite, poetic language is a sensuous delight without sacrificing scientific accuracy ... A tour de force' Daily Mail`Lockhart puts the rapture back in the raptor. Raptor rips at its words, turning them into exquisite portraits of the utter wild, shaping soaring, obsessive beauty out of the British landscape and its imperial birds. A true heir to J.A. Baker's The Peregrine, and T.H. White's The Goshawk' Philip Hoare`In Lockhart's soaring debut he laces vivid prose with illuminating facts ... He elegantly depicts these creatures of the sky and, in doing so, celebrates the natural richness of the country over which they fly' Financial Times`If you publish a book on birds of prey in the tumultuous wake of Helen MacDonald's prizewinning H is for Hawk, you expect comparisons. James MacDonald Lockhart can relax. His book is outstanding ... Wild birds of prey represent the living spirit of a place- of Britain. In this delicate, complex, open-ended book, full of freshness and movement, he captures that wild spirit without ever making it feel captive' Sunday Times`Lockhart brings out both the birds' ecstatic gifts of flight but also the tragedy and triumph of their predatory lifestyle... His descriptions are as precise as they are inventive' Observer`Lockhart is stepping towards the distinguished company of the great modern literary books on birds of prey... The writing, at times, is as good as anything we have on the subject to date' Country Life`His understanding of raptor ethology shines' Nature`Any bird of prey fan will find it irresistible ... thoroughly recommended' BirdGuides`Nothing prepared me for the sustained brilliance and intensity of this book ... Warm, intimate, full of wonder and delight in the ways the birds revealed themselves' Caught by the River

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Lockhart, James Macdonald.
Editorial: Fourth Estate. 1 Cloth(s) (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate. 1 Cloth(s), 2016. hard. Estado de conservación: New. (Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction) From the sea eagle with its imposing eight-foot wingspan and the hen harrier swimming over land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, and from a peregrine with its third eyelid to protect its sight when diving on prey at 200 mph and the ghostly sparrowhawk in the fields around in his home in Warwickshire, James Macdonald Lockhart is fascinated by birds of prey. A childhood spent surrounded by black and white images of birds that his great-grandfather—an early pioneer of bird photography—had taken at the beginning of the last century and a boyhood holiday on the Isle of Lewis led to this magnificent hymn to raptors, which explores both the birds' biology and history, while unravelling their often complicated relationship with man; it is at once a portrait of a lifelong passion and an account of how raptors and their landscapes have possessed the author. 375. Nº de ref. de la librería 72562

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,10
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,24
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

James MacDonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Postscript Books
(NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate, 2016. Estado de conservación: New. From hen harriers nesting on Orkney, Lockhart travels south through Caithness and Sutherland, across to the Outer Hebrides and south again, bird-by-bird, until he reaches his home in Devon - and the sparrowhawks. He is driven by a lifelong passion to explore the habitats of the raptors, and celebrates the birds themselves while reflecting on the ornithologists of the past, including his own great grandfather, Seton Gordon. Raptor received the Royal Society of Literature¿s Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011. Nº de ref. de la librería 225690

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,92
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,48
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: > 20
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,56
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,78
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Editorial: Fourth Estate
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Symposium Books
(Providence, RI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 0007459874 We carry new, used, and remaindered books - some books may have remainder mark and/or underlining. We often have multiple copies per title - and have over 20,000 discounted titles available. Symposium Books is an Independent Bookstore in Providence, RI . We are dedicated to providing our customers with the widest selection of scholarly, literary and quality art books. Expedited shipping is available. We pride ourselves on offering prompt, reliable customer service and a no hassle return policy. Nº de ref. de la librería 0007459874

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,34
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate 2016-02-11 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate 2016-02-11, 2016. Estado de conservación: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-GRD-05167548

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,95
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,35
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate, 2016. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0007459874

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. Estado de conservación: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,13
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers. Estado de conservación: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. de la librería V9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate 2016-02-11 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate 2016-02-11, 2016. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-HCL-00017759

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,35
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Editorial: Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate, 2016. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería EH9780007459872

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda