John Harding Florence and Giles

ISBN 13: 9780007315048

Florence and Giles

3,62 valoración promedio
( 3.187 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780007315048: Florence and Giles

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

John Harding is a book reviewer for the "Daily Mail" and the author of "While the Sun Shines."

Review:

"An elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue; imagine Henry James's "The Turn of the Screw" rewritten by Edgar Allan Poe. Plotted to the last detail . . . Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but--in retrospect--inevitable finale." --"Times"

"You don't need to know "The Turn of the Screw "to enjoy it. Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades . . . Your Twilight-reading teen will love it too. A darkly glamorous tour de force." --"Daily Mail"

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,96
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Harding, John
Editorial: Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Blue Door, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in Brand New condition. Nº de ref. de la librería CHL2132955

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 2,65
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,96
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

John Harding
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house s many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn t sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children s first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm.Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James s The Turn of the Screw, Florence Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Nº de ref. de la librería AA89780007315048

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,00
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

John Harding
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house s many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn t sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past.After the sudden violent death of the children s first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world.Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James s The Turn of the Screw, Florence Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Nº de ref. de la librería AA89780007315048

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,00
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800073150480000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,92
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Harding, John
Editorial: Blue Door 2010-01-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Softcover Cantidad: 4
Librería
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Blue Door 2010-01-01, 2010. Softcover. Estado de conservación: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780007315048B

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,41
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,15
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

John Harding
Editorial: Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 3
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Blue Door, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000183186

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,23
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

John Harding
Editorial: The Borough Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The Borough Press, 2011. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería GH9780007315048

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,76
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

John Harding
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Estado de conservación: new. BRAND NEW, Florence and Giles, John Harding, A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence & Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780007315048

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,78
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Harding, John
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería FC-9780007315048

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,07
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

John Harding
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería __000731504X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,71
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda