The Last Highlander

3,76 valoración promedio
( 97 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780007229505: The Last Highlander
Críticas:

‘Sarah Fraser tells the story of the “Old Fox” with notable panache … Makes delightful bedside reading for a posterity spared from having to live with him’ Max Hastings, Sunday Times

‘Superb … akin to a John Buchan adventure story’ Mail on Sunday

‘In this colourful, entertaining biography, Sarah Fraser does not attempt to excuse Lord Lovat’s personal faults or political chicanery but, rather, [presents] him amply in a complex historical context’ The Times

‘Sarah Fraser deserves to be acclaimed as a notable biographer … This is a brave and meaty book tells this remarkable tale with admirable patience, industry and understanding’ Spectator

‘A vivid and fascinating biography of a quirky aristocrat’ Evening Standard

‘Irresistibly romantic biography’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Rich and readable … Fraser’s is a shrewd, balanced account told with a keen eye for detail’ Independent on Sunday

Reseña del editor:

Fans of C.J. Sansom must read this Saltire Society Literary Awards Scottish First Book of the Year – a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland’s most notorious clan chief.

Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, was the last of the great Scottish chiefs – and the last nobleman executed for treason. Determined to seek his fortune with the exiled Jacobite king in France, Fraser acted as a spy for both the Stuarts and the Hanoverians; claimed to be both Protestant and Roman Catholic.

In July 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie launched his last attempt to seize back the throne, supported by Fraser and his clans. They were defeated at Culloden. Fraser was found hiding in a tree.

This swashbuckling spy story recreates an extraordinary period of history in its retelling of Fraser’s life. He is surely one of Scotland’s most notorious and romantic figures, a cunning and ambitious soldier who died a martyr for his country and an independent Scotland.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Sarah Fraser
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Fans of C.J. Sansom and Diana Gabaldon s Outlander series must read this Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland s most notorious clan chief. Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, was the last of the great Scottish chiefs - and the last nobleman executed for treason. Determined to seek his fortune with the exiled Jacobite king in France, Fraser acted as a spy for both the Stuarts and the Hanoverians; claimed to be both Protestant and Roman Catholic. In July 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie launched his last attempt to seize back the throne, supported by Fraser and his clans. They were defeated at Culloden. Fraser was found hiding in a tree. This swashbuckling spy story recreates an extraordinary period of history in its retelling of Fraser s life. He is surely one of Scotland s most notorious and romantic figures, a cunning and ambitious soldier who died a martyr for his country and an independent Scotland. Nº de ref. de la librería AA89780007229505

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Sarah Fraser
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Fans of C.J. Sansom must read this Saltire Society Literary Awards Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland s most notorious clan chief. Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, was the last of the great Scottish chiefs - and the last nobleman executed for treason. Determined to seek his fortune with the exiled Jacobite king in France, Fraser acted as a spy for both the Stuarts and the Hanoverians; claimed to be both Protestant and Roman Catholic. In July 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie launched his last attempt to seize back the throne, supported by Fraser and his clans. They were defeated at Culloden. Fraser was found hiding in a tree. This swashbuckling spy story recreates an extraordinary period of history in its retelling of Fraser s life. He is surely one of Scotland s most notorious and romantic figures, a cunning and ambitious soldier who died a martyr for his country and an independent Scotland. Nº de ref. de la librería AA89780007229505

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Sarah Fraser
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800072295050000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,89
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Sarah Fraser
Editorial: HarperPress 2013-03-28 (2013)
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 4
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperPress 2013-03-28, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-GRD-04963160

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,45
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Sarah Fraser
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers (2013)
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, 2013. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780007229505

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Sarah Fraser
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 129mm x 196mm x 32mm. Paperback. Fans of C.J. Sansom must read this Saltire Society Literary Awards Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland's most notorious clan chief. Simon Fraser,.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 288 pages. 0.362. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780007229505

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Fraser, Sarah
Editorial: HarperPress
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 3
Librería
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperPress. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 000722950X Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Nº de ref. de la librería 16543102

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Fraser, Sarah
Editorial: HarperCollins Publishers (2013)
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 4
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers, 2013. Estado de conservación: New. 2013. Reprint. Paperback. Fans of C.J. Sansom must read this Saltire Society Literary Awards Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland's most notorious clan chief. Num Pages: 288 pages, black & white illustrations, maps, frontispiece, colour plates. BIC Classification: 1DBKS; 3JF; BGH; HBJD1; HBLL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 132 x 28. Weight in Grams: 322. . . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780007229505

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Fraser, Sarah
Editorial: HarperPress (2013)
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 3
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción HarperPress, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 000722950X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,77
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Sarah Fraser
ISBN 10: 000722950X ISBN 13: 9780007229505
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 4
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Not Signed; Fans of C.J. Sansom and Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series must read this Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland's most notorious clan chief. Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, was the last of the great Scottish chiefs - and the last nobleman executed for treaso. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780007229505_rkm

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,86
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda