Imagen del editor

12.21: A Novel

Thomason, Dustin

ISBN 10: 0449011593 / ISBN 13: 9780449011591
Usado / No binding / Cantidad: 1
Librería: Addis Books (Cheyenne, WY, Estados Unidos de America)
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro
Añadir al carrito
Precio: EUR 4,31
Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,74
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Guardar para más tarde

Sobre el libro

Detalles bibliográficos


Título: 12.21: A Novel

Encuadernación: No binding

Condición del libro: Good

Tipo de libro: audio book

Descripción:

Former library audio book. Will have library markings and stickers and possibly no inserts. Plays perfectly. N° de ref. de la librería 012-56D2-XX56

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por GoodReads:
3,4 valoración promedio
(2.853 valoraciones)

Sinopsis: From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon?perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life?s work and to one of history?s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
?Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and  12.21 will be favorably compared to  The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is  very scary but also  very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.??Nelson DeMille

?The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.??Vince Flynn

?A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.?? Kirkus Reviews

?Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.??Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

?Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.?? Publishers Weekly


From the Hardcover edition.

Biografía del autor: Dustin Thomason is co-author of The Rule of Four. He was the co-creator of the ABC television series The Evidence and an executive producer on Fox?s Lie to Me. He received his M.D. from Columbia University.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Librería y condiciones de venta

Opciones de pago

Esta librería acepta las siguientes opciones de pago:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Buscar en el catálogo de esta librería]

[Todos los libros de esta librería]

[Hacer una pregunta a la librería]

Librería: Addis Books
Dirección: Cheyenne, WY, Estados Unidos de America

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 23 de septiembre de 2015
Valoración librería: Valoración 3 estrellas

Condiciones de venta:

All items guaranteed. Business information: Addis Books 7231 Boulder Ave., Ste 519 Highland, CA 92346 Contact: Mark Jones addisbks@gmail.com +1-407-720-9817


Condiciones de envío:

We ship within two business days.


Descripción de la librería: We provide a varying selection of audio books for your pleasure.