Imagen del editor

12.21: A Novel

Thomason, Dustin

3.019 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0449011593 / ISBN 13: 9780449011591
Usado Condición: Good
Librería: Addis Books (Cheyenne, WY, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 23 de septiembre de 2015

Cantidad: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 1,37 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

Former library audio book. Will have library markings and stickers and possibly no inserts. Plays perfectly. N° de ref. de la librería 012-56D2-XX56

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: 12.21: A Novel

Encuadernación: No binding

Condición del libro:Good

Tipo de libro: audio book

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly
From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author:

Dustin Thomason is co-author of The Rule of Four. He was the co-creator of the ABC television series The Evidence and an executive producer on Fox’s Lie to Me. He received his M.D. from Columbia University.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

We provide a varying selection of audio books for your pleasure.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

All items guaranteed. Business information: Addis Books 7231 Boulder Ave., Ste 519 Highland, CA 92346 Contact: Mark Jones addisbks@gmail.com +1-407-720-9817

Condiciones de envío:

We ship within two business days.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue